Friday Five

Friday?! You came quickly this week – not complaining, just saying. Is it really almost mid-January? Cheezits, Mary & Joseph.

1. I’M WATCHING: When I am back to running, I’ll lace up my Mizunos and get at it. Mizuno is kicking off 2013 in a big way as they launch their Wave Rider and Wave Inspire. My hus and I both currently run in these kicks, strictly coincidence because I get a new pair/different brand almost every year.

My companion is my solitude! Holy crap does this make me want to run! Here’s to the determination of runners around the world.

2. I’M READING: Listen up ladies! Sorry, dudes. Have y’all heard about Pretty Muddy race series? It’s like a Warrior Dash, full of mud, fun and obstacles, BUT it’s for girls only. They are hitting up Atlanta this fall and I’ve got my eyes on the run.

Interested in trying one out -> see if they are coming to a city near you. Bonus – use the code GIRLTIME to receive $20 off your registration fee. Sign up soon, this one time awesome code is good only through the end of January. Seriously, you know how rare race discounts are!

Pretty Muddy

3.I’M PINNING: I have a seasoned skillet that my nanny gave me, and I’m not afraid to use it. My girlfriend spotted Trisha Yearwood’s Skillet Almond Shortbread country recipe and raved about the taste. This is on my to-do list, don’t worry.

LAURA McKENZIE/Herald-Zeitung Skillet almond shortbread

4. I’M LISTENING TO: Lumineers. Dead Sea puts me in the bestest mood. Chill, Friday night glass of wine, or Monday morning coffee shop kind of tune.

5. I’M NOSHING ON: I made the first batch of Healthier Banana Bread for the new year. Must be my 175th loaf. Recipe is here, you’ve been warned.

photo (2)

What are you cooking up this week?

17 responses to “Friday Five

  1. What would happen if a race was set up for only men? I don’t think that would go over well 😉 I was impressed with how many women were at Tough Mudder in full beast mode! Ya’ll can kick some tail!

  2. I want a seasoned skillet! My grandma is not that kind of grandma, but she is still awesome. I would love to do a pretty muddy race with girlfriends if I could convince them!

  3. We are on the same music wavelength. The Lumineers, along with Imagine Dragons are my new favorite bands.
    I have my Grandma’s seasoned skillet (which having three sisters, was an HONOR to get 🙂 and I adore it. Makes THE BEST cornbread!

Leave a Reply

