Holiday Detox – Actual Tips You Can Use

If I had a dollar for every time “detox” came up in my newsfeed or reader yesterday I’d be loaded. What I didn’t appreciate seeing from articles were the drastic measures people were taking to cleanse themselves of the holiday weekend – the liquid detox for days, the workout-til-you-pass-out, and so on.

I’d like to think that many of us are educated enough to enjoy the holiday, treat ourselves, and then get back on track after.

Shape Magazine, which I adore, had some tips that were actually good nuggets of advice for the holiday season. Check out the first three, which had me nodding along.

8 Simple Ways to Detox Your Body
No fad retreats or spas. These easy ways to recuperate will help you feel healthier than ever!

  1. CUT YOUR SUGAR INTAKE – “In the long term, this kind of habit can cause you to become chronically fatigued, diabetic, develop cancer, and pack on excess weight.”
  2. Start with water – Add a touch of lemon, “Lemon helps re-hydrate the system and promotes digestion, which will help the flow of waste out of your body.”
  3. Move your Body – “People who exercise regularly have far fewer total toxins in their systems,” he points out.

It’s not rocket science. I think I remember hearing once that if you want a healthy lifestyle, simply expend more than you consumer.

How are you kicking off a healthy start to the holiday season?

17 responses to “Holiday Detox – Actual Tips You Can Use

  1. Ah I agree! There has been SO much out there about extreme dieting ways to help offset the long weekend. Yikes!
    I always try and tell myself that “life happens”, and try and move on and the little weight that’s put on will go away with sensible and healthy eating!

  2. Detox is a silly concept to me. I think it is one more infomercial fad that tricks people into thinking they can lose weight off a diet. Sure, you can lose weight off a diet, but you also need to include regular exercise. Dieting alone can be either unhealthy (if you are losing a lot of weight quickly) or simply not enough. Plus, detox and dieting sounds like pure torture.

  3. Interesting that I saw an article from Shape a few months ago that said exercising doesn’t actually detox you – way to be hypocritical, Shape!! Although, I will absolutely believe that you can sweat out the toxins no matter what anybody says. 🙂 It makes me feel better and it’s good for you, regardless!

  4. Who can limit sugar intake when there are so many delicious goodies EVERYWHERE you look during the holidays 😉 At least being pregnant makes me have to drink plenty of water and I am still trying to get my butt out the door to run. Signing up for the Jenny Hadfield Holiday Challenge should keep me motivated. At least I hit two of the 3 points on your list!!!

  5. Love it, except the lemon thing (too much in your water and you could hurt your enamel!) I know because it happened to me earlier this year (particularly bc I was nursing and not getting enough calcium). I was putting a full lemon in my water once a day and wasn’t taking my prenatals like I should have been. My dentist told me to stop with the lemon and get back in my routine of the prenatal. Just a little heads up after you deliver! Keep up with the prenatal and really watch your nutrition! Baby/breastmilk will take the nutrients and then your body suffers! You have to over compensate! 🙂

  6. Simple & easy tips = perfecto! I had a dark chocolate M&M overdose thanks to D’s parents’ house and am skipping my usual dark-chocolate daily indulgence this week. The good thing is I’m certainly not missing it, and the next time I have a piece it will taste that much better 😉

Leave a Reply

