Homemade Granola Recipe for Dummies

I mentioned I’ve been itching to find a new challenge. I stumbled upon the idea to start cooking more recipes, adding healthier options. My ahmazing friend Angie over at Simply Yogini sent me an entire list of places to start educating myself on everything from choosing organic to general health and wellness. I’ve found countless recipes, but I’ve also started to think more about my diet and the decisions I make daily. I’ll share some of my favorite articles with y’all in a bit!

Back to the challenge. I eat healthy but rarely change up my weekly recipes. When I say I could eat peanut butter & jelly sandwiches every day for lunch I truly mean it. There are terrific recipes online, but if I don’t have the ingredients in my pantry I typically am a slacker when it comes to actually whipping-up something new.

This weekend I challenged myself to make one recipe I found online. Erin over at The Healthy Apron had me hooked on her “Frosty No-Bake Granola Bars.” I have seen countless granola recipes online but I had all the ingredients listed for the no-bake bars and thought it would be an easy test.

Image courtesy of Food Doodles & The Healthy Apron

Frosty No-Bake Granola Bars
Courtesy of Food Doodles
Makes 12 (cupcake sized bars)

2 large overripe bananas
1 cup oats
1/2 cup crunchy cereal ( I used crushed up kashi shredded wheat)
2 tbsp pure maple syrup(or any other sweetener you use)
2 tbsp peanut butter or other nut or seed butter
2 tbsp semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 tbsp dried cranberries or other fruit
2 – 4 tsp cocoa powder

Directions:
Line a muffin pan with paper liners. Mash the bananas and add wet ingredients and cocoa powder; mix well. Add all other ingredients, mix well, then press into prepared muffin tin. Freeze at least 60 minutes before serving.

Nutritional Profile: 92 calories, 2.6 g fat (0.8 g sat, 0.6 poly, 1.0 mono), 19 mg sodium, 151 mg potassium, 16.5 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 6 g sugar, 2.4 g protein

What I learned: adding more oats and choosing the right crunchy cereal make a big difference. You can also add in other goodies if you aren’t a fan of dried fruit or choco chips. These granola bites will go quickly:)

Now that I have the basics down, I’m ready to experiment more with the recipe. Adding in cinnamon and dried apples for a fall granola theme mix, etc. And the bonus is that I have a healthy pre-workout snack ready for the week!

We are getting back to the healthy basics. I am reading up on ways to change daily habits for the better. I’m enthused and looking forward to getting more creative in the kitchen.

I’ll take any healthy snack recipes you got!

29 responses to “Homemade Granola Recipe for Dummies

  1. Like every other recipe I see online, this one will be even more awesome when I add chocolate chips. I mean, tell me one recipe that would suck with chocolate chips and I will argue that it won’t.

  2. Those look delicious and if they were in my house right now, I would have to guess half the pan would be gone 😉 I have tried so many different granola-type recipes and have yet to find a good one. Everything from chewy or crunchy bars to a Kashi type granola and each time they just aren’t up to par. I look forward to giving these a whirl to see if they become one of my go-to’s!!!

  3. Those sound and look awesome! I’ll have to make some.
    I love making recipes I’ve found on blogs. I trust them a lot more than something from a cookbook! I made Cotter Crunch’s Halloween Healthy Bite recipe- they were incredible!

  4. Ah, homemade granola – one of the big (but really, simple) challenges I have yet to tackle! Love Grown Foods just does it so well… 😉

  5. I would love to be able to make snacks and stuff like this. I feel like I would have more success with my diet if my wife were on board with my lifestyle choices. Generally I have to go along with what she wants or what we have time for. Looks delicious though! I like to think I am making healthier and healthier choices everyday, so it is good to see what I can get to down the road!

  6. Pingback: 18 Rabbits & Reasons to Love Granola & Giveaway « Live for the Run·

  7. My brother suggested I may like this web site. He used to be totally right.
    This submit actually made my day. You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

