Running With Pets: Taking A Cue from Nike Women

I found an awesome post on the Nike Women Facebook page that was too good to not share:

Man’s best friend? More like a girl’s best running partner. After all, who else can keep up with your 7-minute mile—and still love you, no matter how sweaty you get? Who else has a dog that doubles as a workout partner?

This past week my pup Dr Indiana Jones has been on a tear. It’s like he wants me to practice my interval train or something. He has been pulling me with no slack in the leash; picture someone water skiing behind a boat. We pass people and everyone just laughs because this “puppy” is hauling a**. He’s a seven-year-old Jack Russell, but being all white he looks like he never grew out of his puppy phase.

I definitely have found the best running buddy.

Do you run with your pet? What’s your pet’s name?

21 responses to “Running With Pets: Taking A Cue from Nike Women

  1. Aw, your pictures are way cute! =D

    I, personally, have never owned a dog before. But my sister sister does. I went running with her and her dog a few weeks ago. And that experience was pretty much what you described aboved. People laughed as they saw a 4’8″ girl getting pulled by her dog around the park. 🙂

  2. OMG, I have been going through the SAME thing!! Izzy has been pulling like crazy with no desire to stop…It’s like she can’t go fast enough 🙂 I have definitely become a different runner with her by my side. Love the pics!

  3. Oh my…I love it! A) You’re dog is beyond cute. B) That running path looks beautiful.
    My dog is part Jack Russell and can run like a menace, too. We try to take him on bike rides to get all his energy out; not surprisingly, he can run faster than I can mountain bike!

    • That was somewhere in the north GA mountains:) Takes him awhile to sit still enough to smile.

      Terriers are the best…and the worst. My dog wanders to much to run alongside a bike, ah wouldn’t that be a nice way to tire him out.

  4. The best running partner EVER! Kala is a 8 year old golden retriever and she rocks it on runs and walks. Always happy, smiling, and panting away. 🙂

  5. What a cutie-pie Dr. Indiana Jones is!
    I have a husky named Rogan Fulove. He is very speedy for me (sled dog genes!). I run with him, but never for a serious training run….he would just kick my booty!

  6. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – Dr. Jones is the cutest dog EVER! Next to Roosevelt of course. But Dr. Jones gets extra points because he goes on runs with you! Roosevelt is anti-outdoors and has short little legs so running isn’t at the top of his list of favorite activities! 🙂

  7. Ah-fricking-dorable. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – Dr. Jones is the cutest dog EVER! Next to Roosevelt of course. But Dr. Jones gets extra points because he goes on runs with you! Roosevelt is anti-outdoors and has short little legs so running isn’t at the top of his list of favorite activities! 🙂

  8. I am missing my Indy. I can’t even say the word WALK and GG hides. She understands the word and knows she doesn’t want to go with me..

  9. He’s so cute – how could not chase him around?! Best RB, indeed. 😉 My childhood four-legged fourth sibling (mini-snauzer) had a knack for sprinting, too, we just never thought to take him for a *run*. Those walks were rough…

  10. My black lab pup Shea is now 9 months old and we have been running short distances together. She has gotten really good at knowing when it is play time and when it is running time, which is serious time. Would love to enter us in a race one day.

  11. My Border Collie mutt, Brogue is amazing. He never tires, just switches into a little two-beat gait and I swear he could run forever. He helped me train for my half-marathons.

Leave a Reply

