Spicy Chocolate Chunk Cookies

You heard me. Heat. It. Up.

I’ll admit I am not a huge fan of spicy things, it’s taken me forever to finally come around. I didn’t try Tabasco until last year.

I love chocolate chip cookies.
The hus likes spice.

For Valentine’s day I surprised the man and whipped up Spicy Chocolate Chunk Cookies, courtesy of Tabasco. You may have seen my tweet about making some fiery chocolate chip cookies a few weeks ago, and I think it’s time I let you in on the secret.

Before you gag or get grossed out, trust me, this recipe is amazeballs. The cookies have a tiny hint of heat at the end of your bite. Enough where you raise an eyebrow but not overpowering. I have only whipped up my own cookie dough a handful of times, but this recipe is easy. Easy, different, come on try it!

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

INGREDIENTS
2/3 cup butter or margarine, at room temperature
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons Original TABASCO® brand Pepper Sauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups flour
1 cup chocolate chunks
1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

PREPARATION
Preheat oven to 350°F.

With electric mixer at medium speed, beat butter, sugar, brown sugar, egg, TABASCO® Sauce and vanilla in large bowl until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add flour. Beat until blended. Stir in chocolate chunks and walnuts.

Drop tablespoonfuls of dough 2 inches apart onto greased cookie sheets. Bake about 15 minutes or until cookies are lightly browned. Cool on cookie sheets 5 minutes on wire racks. Remove cookies from cookie sheets to wire racks to cool completely.

Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Would you be up for trying this spicy cookie? What’s a weird ingredient you’ve used in baking?

14 responses to “Spicy Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. Those cookies sound amazing!! I have seen recipes that add a little spice to their sweetness and have always been curious to know what it’s like. Now I am convinced it’s worth a try, especially since I LOVE hot sauce 😉

  2. girl you KNOW I will be trying these! to me they sound great! baby food prunes in that bundt is normal for me, but might be weird to some. until they taste the deliciousness 😉

  3. Hmmmm….I am leary;-) I think that my hubs might like these though! The recipe seems easy enough (I only bake if it seems do-able;-) to try.
    The oddest thing I have used baking was for a mocha crinkle cookie – it involved sour cream, instant coffee, and pepper. Those cookies turned out AMAZING!

  4. I love spice! I can’t eat salsa unless it’s HOT and burning my mouth, everything gets chili powder, and I’d way rather have salty over sweet! so these cookies would probably knock my socks off! I need to do some baking this weekend! 🙂
    I hope you’ve been having a great week!
    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

