10 Reasons Why I Love Running

I’m going to take the love surrounding Valentine’s week and run with it.

Here’s the top 10 reasons why I love running:
1. Learning to love my body and strengthening myself both mentally and physically.
2. Eating peanut butter by the spoonful to fuel for a long run.
3. The gear. I can have umpteen pairs of shoes, shorts, tights, etc. because I end up wearing my gear more than my work clothes.
4. Feeling like a true athlete and inspiration to others.
5. The pure joy and satisfaction that comes from beating your personal best during a race or running a mile faster than you have before.
6. Catching the sunrise a few miles in to a run and knowing that people are still sleeping in their warm beds.
7. Letting go of time and being able to get lost on a run and simply go until you feel like stopping.
8. Making new friends in the running community.
9. Unplugging, getting outside and away from everything.
10. Watching people’s faces when they find out I’m a runner, and a marathoner.

Chef, teacher, etc. why do you love doing what you do?

11 responses to “10 Reasons Why I Love Running

  1. LOVE. #2, #6 and #7 are MAJOR reasons I love to run. I cannot WAIT to be out there this spring as the sun rises and the world wakes up around me. It’s magical.

  2. 5 & 6 are daily motivation for me – while getting OUT of bed it a little rough, it pales in comparison to the feeling of being on these *quiet* city streets long before most of my neighbors are even awake.

    #10? That instant connection & running-related word-vomit that follows cannot be beat. 😉

  3. I love stretching myself to reach new goals. Running helps me prepare my mind for a hectic day. I also love that I can eat Almost anything I want and not worry about gaining weight.

  4. awww I LOVE this post!!
    running just makes me so darn happy! but I’m not really a runner, I’m a physical therapist.
    I loveee being a physical therapist because I get to help people return to activities they love, and each day is a day of growth at work. plus I love learning something new everyday with every new patient.
    I hope you have a great weekend ahead of you!
    xoxo!

  5. Until 2 years ago I was never big on running. It was one of those things I wasn’t good at and had no interest in doing. However, I decided to give a try and really have been hooked since. I rarely ever listen to music while running, but instead like to use it to gather my thoughts. And of course I enjoy the challenge!

Leave a Reply

