No Excuses: You Are Your Own Obstacle

I’m exhausted. It’s too cold. It’s too dark. It’s rainy. I’m sleepy. I’m sick. I’m not in the mood.

We all have our excuses to validate missing a workout. When you do miss a session you might be surprised to discover that what trips you up is more mental strength than physical. Runner’s World “Get Over It – Too tired, stressed, or hungry to run? Here’s how to overcome these common obstacles.”

A few snippets from the article:
Adjust your running clock: during dark winter months, try getting dressed in a bright room instead of fumbling around for your clothes in the dark. “When light hits your eyes, it signals your pineal gland to stop producing melatonin, a hormone that makes you feel sleepy.”

Late-day roadblock: blood sugar dip combined with mental fatigue can leave you feeling anything but peppy. “Don’t confuse mental fatigue with physical fatigue…it’s your mind—not your body—that craves downtime. And running is the perfect antidote.”

Listen up evening runners: if you’ve recently switched to the morning because of other commitments, give the transition some time and know that you might not have your best runs at first. “Switching your workout routine may make you feel like you’re recovering from jet lag on a run. But your body will adapt to the new schedule.”

This article was written for me:) This week I’m going to stay focused on fighting the late-day roadblock. Build a bridge and get over it. You can read the full article from Runner’s World here.

How do you get over those late afternoon roadblocks?

15 responses to “No Excuses: You Are Your Own Obstacle

  1. This was SO me last night. My GPS watch was giving me issues. I wanted to run with music, but I could not find my iPod. My ankle was sore. Yada, yada, yada. I just did NOT feel like running. I DID get out for a walk, but I feel guilty that I skipped my run because none of my excuses were valid ones. Today is a new day and I made sure that I laid out all of my running clothes and I charged my devices so that I am ready to go as soon as I am out of work.

  2. I’m a big fan of hydration when I feel that afternoon slump hit. If that doesn’t seem to do the trick – some chai tea and/or an afternoon snack usually perk me right back up and back into action. I think a lot of people mistake exhaustion for improper fueling or hydration, thinking they can just “suck it up” and get through a workout even if their body is asking for something to sustain it first, know what I mean?

  3. On weeks where I’m working out after work every day, it’s definitely a bit harder to get the motivation back up. Generally, I rush once I get home- in and out the door to the gym in 10 minutes. Don’t even think about it and just “do it”. All the sudden, I’m on the treadmill and not sure how I got there… lol

  4. What an awesome article! Thank you for sharing. I am a 100% AM runner- I love to get it done nice and early so I don’t have time to make excuses as the day moves forward.

  5. Hi! I tagged you in an “11 Things” blog post. Check it out at 5:15pm Eastern!

    Also, I read everything in Runner’s World as if it were written in stone. Love that magazine!

  6. the auto pilot works much better in the early morning. Then I am far too sleepy to think of any excuses. In the afternoon it is often the running group that gets me away from the desk.

  7. “getting dressed in a bright room” This is SO brilliant. I think it’d make a world of difference – especially in the winter – if I did this on most mornings.

  8. Pingback: Finding Motivation to Exercise Tip 5: Stop Making Excuses | This Lean Journey·

Leave a Reply

