Winter Workout: Ski Style with Lindsey Vonn

A runner I am. A skier, um not so much. Thankfully being in shape and athletic helped me to muster up the coordination and strength for skiing.

“Fit people are physically trained to have a good time. Body confidence let’s you take off your shirt, or whatever, without worrying about whether your body will look and perform its very best.” – Men’s Health editor-in-chief David Zinczenko

Whether you want to ski like Lindsey Vonn or just look like a semi-pro athlete, Fitness Magazine has Ms Lindsey’s ski workout to get those muscles ready for carving pow…or hitting pavement, trails, etc. Trust me, your bum and legs will thank you!

Hamstring Curl: No butts about this. Your abs are also indirectly targeted.

Single-Leg Ball Squat: You’re going to need a grab that stability ball and get ready to to get l-o-w.

Quadruped Pulse: Four times the pain awesomeness, plus you look like you’re attempting to swim.

Any ski enthusiasts out there? Or are you more of the sand and sun type?

11 responses to “Winter Workout: Ski Style with Lindsey Vonn

  1. Skiing scares the living crap out of me. I generally enjoy activities that involve both of my feet on the ground.

    Also, I think I need a stability ball. I’ve been thinking about it for a while now and just hate using them in my gym. Answer to that problem would be to purchase… yes?

  2. before a ski jump BROKE my knee, yes, I loved to ski. I was on a team! running, lifting, even playing tennis – all of it helped me ski better, longer. in high school we went to the mountain 2 times a week with the team, and I went at least 2 other times outside of that! 🙂

    those first two exercises especially are GREAT for ski conditioning! also? not falling. 😉 don’t throw yourself off jumps and then get distracted… by a tree… that you think just said your name?

    I still ski… just… safer. 😀

  3. Me + Skiing = Embarassing! First, I never want to leave the bunny hill. Second, I am super afraid that I will lose control and slam into another skiier or worse, a tree! Third, my legs and body just can’t seem to figure out what to do so I look like a grandma coming down the hill!!! Thus, I’d rather sit in the lodge drinking beers and watching other people try to figure it out 🙂

  4. I love to ski. Last year I was in the middle of training for a half when I took time off to go to Utah. I thought to myself “I’m in good shape, no way I am going to be sore”. Damn, my thighs burned so bad for four days. Skiing is a fantastic workout, especially being at elevation.

Leave a Reply

