Gear Review: Patagonia Jacket That Packs A Soft Punch

January and February prove to be some of the coldest months. To fight the elements, I wanted a jacket that would:

A) Be multifunctional. Sufficient for simply running errands and strong enough to hold up on a hike.
B) Be lightweight. No bulky jackets that are annoying to schlep around.
C) Be form fitting. I don’t want to look like the kid from “A Christmas Story.”

I’m not picky, wink wink.

I settled on the Patagonia Nano Puff® Jacket. It feels like a sleeping bag and weighs as much as a feather.

From Patagonia: Windproof and water-resistant, the full-zip Nano Puff® Jacket is made with warm, incredibly lightweight, highly compressible PrimaLoft® One insulation. Ideal as an insulating layer or outerwear in cold climates.

Wind AND water-resistant are a huge plus. I can put on a t-shirt under the jacket and be fine in 40+ degrees. Your body heats up quite nicely under the insulation. When I’m hiking and it’s a bit cooler, I throw on a simple base layer and I’m set. The jacket also folds up into itself, which is ideal for taking it with you wherever you go.

In truth, the hus actually found this jacket and went on and on about how warm and light it was, so naturally Santa got the hint. Yes, we have matching jackets. But they are different colors:)

What jacket do you bundle up in? Are you a fan of a hoody on a jackets or do you go sans hood?

8 responses to “Gear Review: Patagonia Jacket That Packs A Soft Punch

  1. I just bought myself another winter coat for the rest of the season (it was half off!). This one has a hood- which my winter pea coat (obviously) doesn’t. I’m going to wear it in the extreme weather that is still supposedly coming our way…

    The hood will be greatly appreciated. However, why I still have not sprung for a pair of ear muffs is unexplainable.

  2. Ohhh super cute – AND functional, I dig it! I need a jacket like this in a big way! I may just take your recommendation my dear and buy the same one! 🙂

  3. Patagonia rarely fails in protecting from the elements! It’s almost impossible to make cute puffy jackets that don’t have the “marshmellow” effect 😉

    Movie I think you’d love (related to Patagonia + North Face) = 180* South. Rent, watch, feed your adventurous side.

  4. I think my boyfriend has that jacket, or one similar to it… It’s so light and warm (I always steal it from him). I’m hoping he takes the hint and gets me one for my birthday! LOL. 🙂

    You see lots of Patagonia and The North Face gear in Boulder. I love it.

  5. Does it breathe well too (not like I need a lot of cold weather gear, but it’s good to learn in case!)?? I just bought a Nike golf jacket thinking it would be great for running since it’s slim fitting and light weight…come to find out there is absolutely NO release of heat so it’s a sweat fest…good and bad I guess, depending on what you’re looking for 😉

Leave a Reply

