Outside Magazine: The 10 Biggest Fitness Myths

Outside Magazine is testing fitness fanatics knowledge about the basic rules to working out.

The 10 Biggest Fitness Myths” had me raising an eyebrow after just myth number 3.

Myth #1: Stretching prevents injuries and improves performance.
I’ve heard this before and I don’t do any major pre workout stretching. In ­experiments, static stretching temporarily decreased strength in the stretched muscle by as much as 30 percent, an effect that can last up to half an hour.

Myth #2: Running barefoot is better for the body.
I don’t hate barefoot runners, but I certainly am not a fan. Was that PC enough? You all have heard my rant before. Unless you were raised in the bush, you grew up wearing shoes, and as repeated biomechanical studies show, our bodies cling stubbornly to what they know

Myth #3: You need to focus on your core to become a better athlete.
I stopped in my tracks at this myth. I thought your core was the key? Core strength is important, but most people get what they need simply by practicing their sport. Common routines like squats, deadlifts, and kettlebell drills add plenty of core strength.

The article goes on to talk about ibuprofen, hydration, and other fun facts. It’s definitely worth a read.

Do you have a personal fitness myth that maybe you have debunked to share?

14 responses to “Outside Magazine: The 10 Biggest Fitness Myths

  1. Wow thanks for sharing. I too am suprised about #3. I always thought a strong core = strong athlete. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I disagree with the core statement. Obviously it’s not the be all and end all, but a strong core is an important part of staying injury free and meeting your ambitious goals. also agree that pre-run stretching is not important, but post run stretching can absolutely prevent injury!!!

  3. I am on the fence about the stretching thing. Some days I could not imagine going for a run without stretching first. In fact, on days that I don’t stretch it takes me so much longer to settle in.

    I’ve debunked that drinking the night before a race is bad.

  4. I tend to agree with you on the pre-run stretch. I find that the post-run stretch is CRUCIAL to recovery and I’m mad at myself for slacking on it in the past. It is SO important!!

  5. I’m totally with you on the barefoot running issue. Everyone thinks it’s THE way to go these days and they don’t get that they’ve been walking around in shoes their entire lives!

  6. “our bodies cling stubbornly to what they know” – hah, and they do NOT respond kindly to abrupt changes, attempting to reverse that knowledge. PC enough, fo sho.

    The core may not be THE key, according to these myth-busters, but I think we’re probably better off assuming it’s a good thing to work on vs. forget about. 😉

  7. These are great myths!

    I think the biggest myth I’ve found is ‘cardio is the best exercise’. While walking, jogging, biking, etc is great for your body..I think yoga, stretching, and weight lifting is super important as well. Whether one is trying to lose or maintain weight, I don’t think that pure cardio is the answer. Or atleast personally, I’ve found that I feel much better when I mix up my routine.

Leave a Reply

