A Few of My Christmas Favorites

Ah, Christmas comes but once a year. We all have holiday memories, things that make the season so special. Here is a short list of some of my top Christmas faves. It was super hard choosing!

Tradition: Every Christmas Eve growing up my brother and I got to open one present. Now that I’m older, the men in the family watch Die Hard while Norak and I pray for them during our Christmas Eve candlelight service at our local church. I know what you’re thinking, but Die Hard is totally a Christmas movie.

Movie: It’s A Wonderful Life. If I don’t list this movie Norak will fly over and beat me. But seriously, it’s a movie that teaches about the importance of being a good man and giving more to others without expecting anything in return. It also teaches you not to leave $8,000 with your crazy uncle.

Hymn: Carol Of the Bells. The Home Alone church scene where the boys choir sings this gives me goosebumps.

Reindeer: Dasher.

Naughty or Nice: Nice.

Multi-color lights or clear: Multi. Big honking Snoopy type lights are my favorite!

Smell: Christmas Trees. Cinnamon sticks. Fresh holiday cookies. Candles.

Seasonal Treat: Gingerbread anything, cookies, lattes, bread, etc. I still need to try mince pies.

Christmas Picture: For the first time in 100 years Mayretta, Georgia got snow on Christmas day. Epic. Norak and I made the jankiest snow angels in our front yard. I laugh every time I see this pic.


Sight: Going to New York and seeing the Rockefeller tree lit up. The tree of all trees and something truly special.

Best gift: Whenever my brother comes home for Christmas. Family.

Worst gift: I never got Grubby and my parents will never forget it either. He was Teddy Ruxpin’s catepillar friend. Hey Santa, Grubby’s on ebay!

Special Memory: One Christmas Santa left his footprints on the carpet from the fireplace to the tree. The “special” North Pole snow didn’t melt and I wouldn’t let my parents vacuum for like a week.

Dislikes: How quickly December goes by. Dec 26 is the pits; all the magic is gone.

What are some of your Christmas favorites?!

18 responses to “A Few of My Christmas Favorites

  1. “Die Hard is totally a Christmas movie.” We might need an additional statement to back this up… 😉

    I laugh every time Norak is mentioned – it sounds like you don’t mess with this one! (i.e. “..will fly over and beat me.” hahah, whoa.)

    Your list is endearing, much like your Georgia snow-angel. When do you two hop on the plane to fly back across the pond??

  2. I can’t believe how fast December is flying by! Christmas is going to be here in no time!!!

    And I just have to say, Die Hard is DEFINITELY a Christmas movie. It’s not my favorite, but it ranks in my top ten. 😉 A Wonderful Life *IS* my favorite though, so I”m glad we see eye-to-eye there. 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  3. Movie – Christmas Vacation!! Hands down.
    Christmas song – O Holy Night
    Christmas CD – N Sync. Yup.
    Fave Christmas dinner – Ham!
    Tree – I prefer my Christmas tree to have a mess of ornaments collected over the years, not just one or two colors.

    I love that memory 🙂 Someday if I have kiddos I’ll do that.

  4. DASHER!!! he must be the fastest! 🙂 I dislike how quickly the 26th comes too…and that blue feeling from Jan3-until spring! I miss the warm sun already! xoxo!

  5. I remember when it first snow for the first time on Christmas day last year in georgia too!! It was beautiful! I hope to see it again this year. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Christmas Favorites » Then Heather Said·

  7. Aw! This post got me even more excited for Christmas.
    I love the big, multi-colored bulbs as well. That’s what we always had growing up and it doesn’t feel like Christmas without them. Oh, and I’m obsessed with all things gingerbread. Literally, obsessed.
    Your snow angel picture is so cute! I spent last Christmas in New York which was my first “White Christmas” since I was born and raised in CA. And what they say is true- nothing compares to NYC at Christmas time. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Christmas favorites. | making megan·

  9. Pingback: » Favorite Christmas Things Brownies and Zucchini·

  10. I love this list! I definitely agree that the season goes by too fast.
    Spending time with family is one of my favorite things about the holiday. I also love just sitting in front of the Christmas tree.

Leave a Reply

