Beat the Daylight Savings Blues

It’s fall, which means the leaves are changing and the clocks too. Daylight savings time is officially upon us and for many, you are leaving for work in the dark and coming home in the same. This is a sure fire way to throw anyone into a funk.

I am a morning workout gal but that hasn’t stopped me from supporting the hus and his evening schedule. There is a 5 minuted period when you get home from a long day, tired from a commute, and want to immediately plop on the couch or have a glass of wine and unwind. It’s critical during this 5 minute window that you KEEP MOVING. Put on your gym clothes and get those buns in the car or out the door. The hus and I look at at other and say, “We’ll go for 20 minutes.” By the time you’re at the gym you find you’ll stay longer. I swear it makes us feel 100x better. More calm, patient and energetic.

Exercise is the best mood booster and blues buster. You don’t have to take my word for it.

According to the smart docs at WebMD routine exercise is proven to help:
Reduce stress
Ward off anxiety and feelings of depression
Boost self-esteem
Improve sleep

Have any smart tips to beat the daylight savings o’dark thirty blues?

11 responses to “Beat the Daylight Savings Blues

  1. i like daylight savings, but thats because i am a morning person. The sun is up earlier and i go to bed earlier, haha. But i think if you plan properly, the 5 pm workout can be done. Mind over matter!

  2. I learned a few years ago that the first few things you do when walking through the door after work is critical. Just shut the brain off, change, and walk out before you can do anything else!

    My coworker that does the same thing (essentially) that I do and I are going to start rotating times that we’re going to be in the office. Hopefully this leaves me with the chance to get a few more morning workouts. Because even though I’m still living in darkness, it’s a nice way to kick off the day. 🙂

  3. I used to LOVE my evening workouts – sometimes even very late, from 9-11 every night (I’d close it down, yeah!). Now I work out in the morning, early early as often as I can.

    It definitely is more difficult to get out there when it’s pitch dark, but somehow it makes me feel like I’m getting even more of a jump on the day, because when I’m done the sun is sometimes JUST coming up (this morning I beat the sun AND the garbage man – he was following closely on my tail down the street!).

    obviously early mornings do not curb my rambling. 😉

  4. I admit I find it SO hard to beat that 5-minute window (so true – it is SO critical)! That’s why I’m a morning work-outer, too. 😉

    p.s. Run challenge update?? Uh huh. xo

Leave a Reply

