Banana Bread: Baking, I Knead It

Let’s take a break from our regular fit schedule and get in the kitchen! I love to bake and cook, but baking is where I excel.

When I stumbled on a recipe I saw on Facebook for Healthier Banana Bread I had to have it. The hus loves him some nanner bread and since Betty Crocker has left me alone on this island we had to make a go at it.

(Healthier) Banana Bread
Tastes just as good as the version with oil/butter, but with a fraction of the fat & calories! Makes 12 servings.

Ingredients
1/3 cup white sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 eggs
1 cup mashed bananas (about 2+ bananas)
1/4 cup water
1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat flour)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
milk chocolate chips or dried fruit (if you’d like to add these, fold them in right before baking)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray one 9x5x3 inch loaf pan with a non-stick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, beat the sugars and applesauce until smooth and creamy. Beat in the eggs, water, vanilla, and bananas with the sugar mixture until it is well blended.

Mix in the flour, baking soda, salt and baking powder just until the mixture is moistened and well-blended.
Bake at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes. Bread is done when the top is firm to the touch and a golden brown color. (Time will vary according to loaf size and oven type). When bread is removed from oven, allow it to cool on it’s side for 10 minutes, then remove it from the pan and let it cool on a rack.

**
Warning, this is tasty. It’s much fresher and smooth than store bought. Also, if you let your bananas ripen to where they are almost brown the natural sugars will come out adding more flavor. And if I can do it, trust me, you can too.

Do you have any healthier dessert or bread recipes to share?

13 responses to “Banana Bread: Baking, I Knead It

  1. Your pans don’t fit?!?! That in itself would make me want to move back… lol

    I like adding oatmeal to the quick breads I made- I pretend it makes it twice as healthy because there’s more fiber. Don’t tell me differently.

  2. Banana bread is my kryptonite. Seriously. And I’m pretty sure I subconsciously buy bananas just to let them go “bad” so I can make this treat. Okay, maybe it’s not subconscious. 😉 I love the slices of banana you put on the top of your loaf – great idea!

  3. Mmm, now I want to make banana bread! it is easy to make healthy and still taste UUUUHHHH-mazing! and if I oops, drop some peanut butter in there!? ah well. 😉

    I have heard this tragic story before, of small ovens! I don’t know what I would do!

  4. I can’t believe I missed this post, I LOVE banana bread!!
    This looks so amazing, I really wish I had the utensils and ingredients to make this!
    Definitely being bookmarked for when I’m next home 🙂

  5. Pingback: Friday Five « Live for the Run·

Leave a Reply

