Throwing Punches: Boxercise

Tyson. Ali. Names synonymous with boxing. Nichole? Not so much.

I told y’all that I’m attempting new group fitness classes and I think I found a keeper. I give you, Boxercise:
Boxercise combines boxing and exercise in great fun, stress busting activity to suit everyone who wants to enjoy boxing training without getting hit or the elitism of some so called purists. Boxercise is one of the most effective forms of cross-training available today. It combines use of both aerobic and anaerobic energy systems with the systematic recruitment of both fast and slow twitch muscle fibres in a manner that not only ensures a diverse workout, but also enhances sports specific senses, including hand-eye co-ordination, balance and timing. Boxercise classes are always fun, energetic and addictive.

I think the points you should note from above are:
1. ….Without getting hit (yea for my face)
2. ….Aerobic and anaerobic activty (you’ll be burning all over)

The class has you partner-up for a chance to throw some punches and the instructor mixes in sprints, push-ups and sit-ups. Basically you’re running and throwing punches for a full hour. I have zero upper body strength and was impressed to see how much fun throwing punches could be. You get into a rhythm and find yourself stinging like a bee in no time. I typically find myself watching the clock in group classes. In boxercise,there is no time to catch a glimpse at your watch.

I have done Crossfit and I was certain I could roll with the punches. However, between the sprints, jabs and push-ups, I was spent. About an hour after the class I could feel it, everywhere. But isn’t that the best kind of sore?

If there are any boxing classes available at your local gym, get a move on and sign up. I highly recommend this form of fitness. Boxercise truly gives you an all over body workout and helps you bust the blues of the day away.

Have you ever thrown a few jabs, or would you be up to the boxing challenge?

6 responses to “Throwing Punches: Boxercise

  1. Do you feel totally badass the second you step into that class?? I totally would! Have never done a “real” boxing class with gloves and stuff but think it would be such a fun way to burn calories and take out the day’s frustrations all at the same time. Nice little bonus 😉

  2. can I say again I LOVE THAT YOU ARE BACK! 😀 I’ve missed your writing.

    I have never taken a class, and I would love to! we have a heavy bag hanging in the garage that I go kick and punch every now and then… I LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

