“Winning isn’t everything, but the will to win is everything.” – Vince Lombardi

Race week has arrived and with it more nerves than I thought. I have been thinking about my first marathon race for three months and this Sunday I’ll be taking part in the Publix Georgia Marathon. 26.2 miles lay ahead and it’s certainly a mental mind warp to stay sharp and focused on the goal.

I am a competitor and I make no apologies for saying I don’t just want to finish, but I want to finish strong. All the training, the patience builds up to the big day. I am thankful that my family is going to be there along the way; granted they will be tailgating enjoying mimosas while I’ll hoof it out on the pavement.

I cannot thank everyone enough for their advice and well wishes. I will need all the encouragement. No matter what happens Sunday, I am proud to have stuck through training during the craziest of weather and schedules. Here’s to a solid race!

15 responses to ““Winning isn’t everything, but the will to win is everything.” – Vince Lombardi

  1. Good luck, Nichole! I know you’ll kick ass, and I’ll be cheering for you Sunday morning from Dallas, sending you lots of energetic thoughts. xoxo

  2. Seriously, you are going to do an AWESOME job!! And just use that mimosa at the finish line as added motivation, hehe. Great thinking by your family 😉 Thinking of you this Sunday!!

  3. What WILL happen on Sunday is that you WILL finish strong and with an overwhelming sense of accomplishment and gratitude for your muscles. I have no doubt that you’ll hold through til the end and enjoy the run your own way!!

    CANNOT wait to hear how it goes…we’ll be cheering you on from the Rockies 😉

  4. Good luck, my dear! I always feel the same way, whether I admit it or not- there is always a goal in the back of my mind, even if I feel blessed just to be able to finish.

    I’m sure you’re going to rock it. Can’t wait to hear about it!

  5. I am so pumped for you! You will absolutely dominate this race. Just keep yourself mentally in check, don’t let the lows get too low and don’t let the highs get too high. Enjoy all of it, especially crossing the finish line and joining the marathon club!

Leave a Reply

