I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food.

“You are what you eat.” How many times have you heard that statement? I thought I was perfectly content being a Tagalong-Snickers-Ice Cream-French Fry, but a documentary I recently watched has me second guessing myself. This documentary is from a few years go, so I might be late to the party but at least I showed up.

Food Matters” is a feature length documentary film informing you on the best choices you can make for you and your family’s health. In a collection of interviews with leading Nutritionists, Naturopaths, Scientists, M.D.’s and Medical Journalists…
“Let thy Food be thy Medicine and thy Medicine be thy Food” – Hippocrates.
‘Food Matters’ is a hard hitting, fast paced look at our current state of health. Despite the billions of dollars of funding and research into new so-called cures we continue to suffer from a raft of chronic ills and every day maladies.

I was a total skeptic at first; you can get any group of experts together talking about what they know best and your opinion is most likely to be swayed. My ears perked up within minutes of tuning in though as one expert chimed in, “…you shouldn’t be tired in the afternoon.” I think I say that daily. Always blaming tiredness on my morning workouts and long work days. However, there are ways that we have conditioned our body through nutrition that leaves us deficient for the vitamins and nutrients our body needs to keep plugging away. When stressed your body blows through Vitamin C, so in the afternoon my body is pooped and has nothing left to go on to recharge. This is just a tiny example of all the cool stuff in the documentary.

A few things I picked up along the way during the documentary:

  • Two handfuls of cashews is equal to a prescription dose of Prozac
  • If you want a building to stand the test of time, don’t use crappy building materials
  • There are some amazing natural therapies that fight everything from depression to cancer
  • Pill popping and poor diet causes all sorts of havoc on the body
  • Our fabulous bodies are self-curative when functioning in good health

Still with me? My point isn’t to go off the deep end and eat raw, healthy stuff all the time; my point is to pause and think about what you are putting in your body and what you are getting out. There is a direct correlation you are going to have to start paying attention to with your food and body. There is no way on this green earth that I can be good 100% of the time, but being more aware is the first step.

As I prepare for my first marathon, a week away (gulp), I have been more cognizant of what I need to do with my body to get it ready for go-time. This concludes my soap box for today.

Does any of this food stuff matter to you?

7 responses to “I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food.

  1. Wow! I must see this documentary! The tidbit about being tired in the afternoon? SO ME!! PS. I am so proud of you as you near your first marathon! SO exciting!!!

  2. You know it matters to me! 🙂 Glad you watched the documentary – it’s eye opening and I wish more people would pay attention to their food choices.

  3. I totally missed this movie and want to see it asap! I recently was feeling beyond sluggish and I knew it was because of my diet. I did a cleanse (as an experiment more than anything) and I’ve felt so much better ever since.

  4. I love how “going off the deep end” and “eating raw, healthy stuff” are in the same sentence, heh. We can’t have you losing control over there! 😉

    Yes, this stuff matters to me! I’ve yet to see that film (but obviously Love the message it sends) – putting it on Netflix queue now!

  5. I have had to start thinking more about what I put into my body, once the shock work off about how terrible some habits I developed, I realized how important it is to make a change.

Leave a Reply

