Dr. Spaceman: You have no reflexes, your blood tastes like root beer, and some of your bones seem to have vanished.

Sometimes I feel like I am on one of those playground merry-go-rounds holding on for dear life. It’s been insanely busy, but good busy. I am doing a lot of new and different things, embracing every bit of the challenge.

January has been such a difficult month to train with the ice, snow and brutal arctic blast. I have kept every mile to plan, but this weekend I listened to my body and took a break. Not to disclose too much info, I’m fine, but I went to the doctor this week and needed to rest. So I cut my long run in half, hey it’s early enough in the game to slow-up before something serious happens.

Since I’ve been spotty here are a few nuggets of what’s going on in my world to entertain you:

  • I purchased a new pair of running shoes. Before I make a humungo deal about this, it’s kind of a bummer to have to switch shoes in training. I even had to switch brands, long story. In the meantime, I’ve been rocking my Nike Free XT Quick Fit shoes on my non-running days. My feet are happy clams and the shoes offer great support.
  • I am bummed about how poorly Chicago fans and other athletes are treating Bears QB Jay Cutler.

    Too soon?

    I wanted the Bears to go to the Super Bowl more than anyone but give the guy a break. However, the athlete-to-athlete banter is somewhat amusing, boys will be boys. As much as I was pulling for da Bears, I will say I am fond of Mr Rodgers.
  • Hey Aaron, would you be my neighbor?

  • We brewed beer batch #2 this weekend, and also experienced our first minor blow-up. Co2 went all over the bathroom, and if I had this on video we’d be rich on America’s Funniest Home Videos.
  • Ever since watching Inception I have messed up dreams. Ridiculous dreams. Often Leo will appear, go figure. That movie is by far one of my all-time favorites.

How is January going for everyone? Anyone feeling the early stages of spring fever?

20 responses to “Dr. Spaceman: You have no reflexes, your blood tastes like root beer, and some of your bones seem to have vanished.

  1. I think some people are eating their words as it turns out Cutler had a torn MCL according to an MRI this morning…

    Granted, he wasn’t at the top of his game anyways, but hey- at least he didn’t “give up” like what the rumor was.

    Sorry life has been hectic- I hope the doctor’s appointment isn’t anything too serious!

  2. I have HUGE spring fever over here… way too early.

    I love Inception. I watched it 2x in a row the first time…

    I would have loved to see the blow up – good thing it was in the bathroom! 🙂 CHEERS!

  3. I have spring fever for sure! It’s been sunny here & almost spring-like, but not quite warm enough yet for true spring weather. Inception totally affected me the 1st time I saw it – I couldn’t get it out of my head.

    Hope your week is off to a great start! xo

  4. Hey sweetie – I hear you on the training in the crappy cold weather. I’ve managed to stick to it to so far, but man is my willpower faltering. I desperately need new shoes AGAIN. The saucony are just not holding up at all. Anyway….Hugs and I hope all is well. Take care of yourself 😉

  5. Please remember to video-tape all beer experiements from here on out, mmk? Thanks. 😉

    Keep those feet happy and do NOT stress about taking the training down a notch when you know you need to. That plan does not have to dictate your life, you’ll still be ready for the marathon no matter how you decide to tackle it!

    Spring can come ANY time now….seriously, like, yesterday?

  6. Give your body rest now and it will have 26.2 miles to give when the day comes. Hope you’re feeling better this week!

    I have not seen Inception yet. Clearly, I am missing out and need to remedy this situation.

    Have a great week!

  7. i watched inception last night. all i could think was “what the!?” the entire time. i still don’t even know what happened. i wouldn’t mind dreaming about leo.

  8. DAMN. I am so with you on spring fever…and it’s only January. :/ I am DYING to get outside to pound the pavement…it’s WAY too cold here and too snow covered for it and it just feels so endless and puts me into wannabe hibernation mode. Awful! NICE job on sticking to that training plan…I can’t imagine it’s easy right about now. Stay strong!

  9. This snow and ice was so ridic (well the lack of atlanta snow plows), it contributed to me just purchasing a $20mo gym membership. So, kudos to you for getting out there on the ice. The one time I did I was sooo scared I was going to fall. Be careful! Can’t wait to hear more about your new shoes. Hope you’re feeling 100% soon 🙂

  10. Inception was AWESOME, i couldn’t agree more.

    January was a bit crazy for me….traveling to the other side of the world and living out of your parents for a month will do that to you i suppose. hope you’re enjoying yours! you’ll have to give us a report on the new shoes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

