He who fails to plan, plans to fail

No surprise that I have been training for a marathon, all 26.2 painstaking heavenly miles. When I decided to finally pony up and commit, the first person I thought of was Scott over at iRunnerBlog. I needed a marathon training plan that would work and wouldn’t kill me. iRunnerblog did a fantastic series on prep for the Chicago Marathon last year. Thankfully Scott was willing to customize a marathon training schedule for me, including taking into account my Princess half marathon with Norak and Meghan.

The plan is below, in all its glory. I realize it’s hard to read so click on it a few times to blow it up:) *This is a plan for me, definitely not appropriate for everyone. And I mean that in the most non-selfish way, I promise.

Making time and finding a route seems to be the biggest kicker. Considering this southern state remains under inches of ice, I have no idea how my long Saturday run will work. I find the best way to tackle the miles is to get out and do it first thing in the morning. The more time I have to think about the inevitable, the less I want to run.

Don’t tell Scott, but I’m sneaking in some swimming, spin classes and strength training, only because that’s what my body is use to and it helps me strengthen my core. Remember, it’s about finding something that works for you. I am definitely listening to my body.

I’m nervous, excited, and ready to get these long runs over with, lol.

Another great resource I found on how to prep for a longer run – the Marathon Man himself answers a few questions:
Long May You Run Marathoners know they need to do long runs. But how many? How long? How fast? Answers to these and many other long-run questions By Hal Higdon

In the meantime, we continue to have crazy, icy conditions. Seriously, is everyone up north getting a good laugh, lol.

The closest we have to a "mountain."

If you were snowed in, where’s the first place you would go once you were able to get out?

26 responses to “He who fails to plan, plans to fail

  1. This weather is definitely not conducive to race training! Glad you found a plan. I’m still wavering a bit on mine. But I’ll figure it out I’m sure. I’m still going to be doing my weights and lighter cardio as well, it’s just what I do 😉 Stay warm girl!!!

  2. I still can’t believe how much ice you guys have down there! That definitely makes training tough. Training for a spring marathon is tricky — I think you have to learn to be especially flexible. I’ve ended up relying on the treadmill more than I wanted to. Sometimes it’s just the only safe place to do it! It’s not the best way to be spending your weekend mornings, but at least it makes you mentally tougher! …or at least that’s what I tell myself.

  3. Man! Here you go thinking you’re safe in a winter-training mode, Southern style, and Mother Nature plays her trickiest hand yet. Sheesh. I’ll cross my fingers that you don’t end up on a treadmill for ANY Long run, it’s not the best way to get pumped for 26.2. 😉 Good luck this weekend, and don’t dwell on the mileage, just the progress 🙂

  4. Atlanta has me seriously mad right now! I nearly died trying to get to Athens for school yesterday grrr. But, anyways, I awarded you the Stylish Blogger Award on my blog :)!

  5. Thanks for the shout-out. I find that being mentally prepared is almost as important as being physically prepared to run 26.2. You are approaching this with the right mind set. You will dominate it! Keep us all updated on your progress.

  6. I wasn’t snowed in this week, but I do remember an instance in college where, when my roommate and I finally were able to dig a car out and creep our way around, the first place I went was Arby’s. I think it was curly fry withdrawl!

  7. great quote! So I have an idea. maybe run half your long run on the treadmill, then the other half outside when its warmer. I’ve done that before? Its tough, but do-able.
    Happy Friday!
    LC

  8. I’m working on my 2nd half marathon training plan right now so I love to have resources to other plans. Hmmmm, I’d probably go to the grocery store because I’d be craving some fresh food!

  9. YAY for a marathon training plan! Boo for icy conditions! I am NOT laughing though as we’re in a boat load of snowy yuckiness up this way so we’re both sorta stuck on the running outside front. SO annoying!! But at least I’m not in training mode or I’d be a bear to be around with this weather 😉

  10. Yay! I am excited to hear how your training goes.
    I have heard the weather there is pretty crazy. My cousins in Atlanta have been out of school all week!

    I have never been snowed in before, but if I was, I think I would probably have to go get a bagel from Einstein’s or something. I love a good bagel! 🙂

  11. wow good luck with the marathon training… i’m hoping to train for a triathlon in the summer. Any ideas of where I can get a training plan for that?

    p.s love your blog!

    • Thank you! Tris are a blast. The Active network has fantastic tri training info. Really spend time where you are the weakest, biggest piece of advice. I still loathe water, lol.

  12. Your plan looks awesome! I think it is smart that you are sneaking in other things as well to strengthen and that you are listening to your body.

    I am up north but not laughing! I know that you guys don’t normally get it at all so that really is a lot for you!

Leave a Reply

