Changing a Tiger’s Stripes

New Year, let’s get at it! The holidays blew by and I had the fortunate luck to unplug. Not having a schedule can do wonders for your mental health.

We had a white Christmas, first one in 100+ years in Atlanta, and we had loads of friends and family. I am welcoming back my routine this week, although training over the break was fantastic. Not having a proper schedule meant I could tackle new routes, trails, etc. Still have my eyes set on 26.2 this March.

That's what I call a white Christmas.

I made a few resolutions around health and well-being. One biggie being taking more time for friends and family. And by taking, it’s making time. I am notorious for always running around like crazy, but my last week off helped me put a new perspective on my schedule and take inventory of what I want. Learn to enjoy the moments.

I highly encourage making goals, whatever category they might be in.

I owe y’all some pictures from my mini hiatus, I’ll get on that this week!

Welcome back and I look forward to whatever 2011 has in store! (photo via)

How was your holiday?! How did you usher in the New Year?

25 responses to “Changing a Tiger’s Stripes

  1. This year is the year of racing for me, but not so much for the competition but the accomplishment. Although I’ve done dozens of 10K’s & 5K’s, I’ve never done a 1/2 or Triathlon. Both of which, I WILL do in 2011. It’s also a year that I’m putting exercise (because I enjoy it so much more) ahead of nightlife on weekends. We’ll see how that last one holds up. Happy New Year!!

  2. Hi Nichole! Sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas with friends and family. I think it’s great that you unplugged and took time to really be present. Excited to see pics and look forward to hearing more about half marathon training with Norak AND marathon training. Fun, busy springtime!

  3. Happy New Year, Nichole! Missed ya!

    This year it’s all about taking risks, embracing change, and saving money…and figuring out how those goals will work together!

  4. Happy New Year! I loved your decision to unplug, it’s so refreshing and needed every now and then.

    You have a BIG year coming up, lady! Disney & the MARATHON are waiting for you 😉

    Now, when can we plan a CO visit all after that biz?

  5. Happy New Year!! And welcome back. 🙂 Taking the time to unplug is so wonderful. I love the connections of blogging and other social media, but getting away now and then can be refreshing.

    Glad you had a good holiday!

  6. That’s a beautiful photo. One of my new year’s goals is to land a new paid position at a non-profit. I was a classroom teacher for the last few years, and I am ready for a change and to embrace a field I’m passionate about.

Leave a Reply

