Why a Marathon?

Thank you ALL for my sweet birthday wishes, that made my day! Between holiday baking and Garth Brooks, I’ve been a bit preoccupied.

CAUTION: Before reading any further please, please note that my decision to run 26.2 miles was taken very seriously.

I have always thought that 26.2 was never in my cards. The miles; monotony; my knees. However, as my competitive nature has grown over the past year of running, I felt in my runner’s heart it was time. Seeing my mom pick up running has been incredibly inspirational. I’m moving on to the big leagues.

Let me say in all sincerity that any race, one mile, 5k, 10k, etc. is a phenomenal achievement. Running and racing isn’t something that appeals to everyone, ask my father:) For me, it was a personal decision to see if I have it in me to train and complete a marathon. I’ve been running for more than a year competitively and I absolutely enjoyed the discipline of training for my last half marathon and first sprint triathlon.

The timing is appropriate for training, as it takes a time commitment to train properly. After seeing my half marathon times get better, it’s time for the next gradual progression. Plus, what a fun magnet for the car, ha!

We all know running long distances is not everyone’s thing. I may bore many of you to death, so I’ll try to be cognizant and throw in something besides running.

And if you want more helpful words of wisdom, I strongly suggest reading:
Runner’s World: Are You Ready?
Health on the Run: Virtual Motivation vs. Peer Pressure
iRunnerBlog: Chicago Training A top to bottom training guide – well worth the read!

30 responses to “Why a Marathon?

  1. All of us say, at one point, “No 26.2 for me!”…but eventually that goal doesn’t seem Quite as lofty! You’ve conquered a lot in the past year, it’s time for bigger and better things 😉 I think the blog world provides a huge source of curiosity and motivation, too; you see other people survive, get through it, and live to tell an inspiring tale, and eventually it seeps in and grabs you…

    You know who to email with questions, crazy training stories and to say “WTF was I thinking?!” at a certain point. 😉 xo

  2. That’s a very, very good question. 🙂

    (I wanted to say thanks for your sweet comment on my post today!)

  3. Thank you for posting this! I am at the same point right now. Good luck with your training & race. I’m going to go read the articles above now!

  4. I think it’s great what you’re doing!

    My non-running friends (who probably don’t get it) keep asking when the marathon is going to be. I’m like, “it’s not that easy!” There really is a lot of thought that should go into it. For me, I’m not ruling one out completely, but I know I’m not mentally ready for it. I’ll stick to a couple halfs next year instead. 🙂

  5. I totally appreciate this post. I think sometimes there is a sense that you’re not a “real” runner until you’ve done a marathon…which I think is ridiculous. Marathons definitely aren’t for everyone. That being said, I’m excited for you. It’s clear that you’ve definitely put a lot of thought into this decision, and you have a great base! Looking forward to following along on your training!!

    (And thanks for the link!! :))

  6. I think it’s awesome that you are mentally and physically up for the marathon challenge. I read that same article in Runner’s World- I’m going to run another half in the springtime and see where I go from there…but, like you, I used to say I’d never run a marathon and now I think there’s a chance I will!

  7. I love this post, especially because you point out that making a decision to run something as monumental as a marathon is not a decision to take lightly. I’m looking forward to hearing all about your training!

  8. Ah, this post could have been written by me a couple months ago! I went through the same struggle with trying to decide if I should run a marathon or not, before deciding to take on the challenge. I’m actually less than a month out now from my chosen marathon and it’s been an interesting experience. I’m glad I’m doing it, but it’s a commitment that I’m not sure I’ll make again with the time and physical difficulty it requires. I’m glad I’m doing it though! Good luck to you!

  9. everyone has their reasons to run. I admire yours. For me, its quite similar. although I’ve run one in past, its time to embrace a new challenge in a whole new light! I look forward to reading ALL about yours. 🙂

  10. I have always been a runner, so I never said never. I have not run 26.2 YET, but I still think I will.

    I *LOVE* Scott’s Chicago Marathon Training posts.

  11. It’s great to point out that a marathon is not something to take lightly. I feel like the act of running is actually secondary to the discipline it takes to get through marathon training – fueling, sleeping, stretching, cross training. You are a strong, inspiring athlete. I can’t wait to read more about your training experiences. It’s a wild ride and I’m sure you’ll love every minute…or at least most minutes 😉

  12. I think that’s an incredible goal. I love hearing about people choosing to train for marathons, since it shows endurance, strength, and major preparation. Looking forward to hearing more about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

