Your birthday is a special time to celebrate the gift of ‘you’ to the world.

oooooh, you love this gift, come on:) haaa. In the words of The Beatles: “You say it’s your birthday. It’s my birthday too, yeah!”

And sorry, a lady never reveals her age (or weight or SAT Score;) Time for some celebración! I’m going to spoil myself rotten…more so than the other 364 days of the year. My birthday falls on a Friday, my favorite day of the week. We’ll see what kind of trouble I get into. I treated myself to Disney and the Wizarding World last weekend, and on Monday I’m headed to Nashvegas to see Garth Brooks! In my family, we kind of make a big deal about birthdays – and I f*n love it.

What to give myself for my birthday? You know, I am one for a challenge. Call me certifiable, but this past year I’ve rocked out some half marathons, even conquered a triathlon. How to kick it up a notch next year? A year older, not wiser for sure.

I still remember clearly, two weeks ago I was lying in bed and I got a bug. Not the bed bugs that are taking over NYC. The running bug. The “can I do it,” “do I have the discipline in me” bug. It bit. 26.2 tiny bites later. I’m in.

For my “under 30” birthday, I’m turning 26.2

March 20, 2011. Only 93 running days left.

If you know me, you know I’ve said there was NO (zip, zero, nada) desire to do a marathon. Blame Norak. She’s my 50-some-odd-year-old inspiration. If she can bust out a 9:50 pace out of nowhere and do a half-marathon. I can do this. Thanks mom..for my birthday too;)

More details, running plans, whining, yada, yada, to come!

Celebrate today! A very merry un-birthday to you all!

27 responses to “Your birthday is a special time to celebrate the gift of ‘you’ to the world.

  1. ♫♪♥♥ [̲̅̅H̲̅][̲̅̅A̲̅][̲̅̅P̲̅][̲̅̅P̲̅][̲̅̅Y̲̅]-[̲̅̅B̲̅][̲̅̅I̲̅][̲̅̅R̲̅][̲̅̅T̲̅][̲̅̅H̲̅][̲̅̅D̲̅][̲̅̅A̲̅][̲̅̅Y̲̅] ♥♥♫♪ Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ•*¨`*•♥ •*¨`*•

    weee ! and Garth Brooks? he is AMAZING in concert – have a great time!!

  2. haha, that was my christmas present to myself! Maybe I should sign up for the Georgia one instead! Thats an awesome gift, well deserved! You will ROCK IT!!
    LC

  3. YAY!! This is so, so exciting! Happy Birthday Nichole!! I love that Norak inspired you – it’s really a cool story. Can’t wait to follow along in your marathon training and enjoy your birthday weekend!
    xoxo

  4. Happy birthday and congrats on committing to a marathon! I say that this is always the hardest thing of marathon is the initial commitment. Good stuff.

    Hey, no jokes about bed bugs, they are quite the problem here in NYC and we don’t kid around about them.

  5. Woooo! Happy Birthday! That is such a great gift to give yourself. I look forward to reading about your training and, of course, the race itself!

  6. Happy, happy birthday! Hope your day was as fantabulous as you are! I LOVE your race goal 🙂 and I can’t wait to hear more details.

    PS – I was definitely belting out “I’ve got friends in low places…” during karaoke spin last night.

    PPS – Spinning and singing = a marathon. Super hard!

  7. I’m SO sorry that I’m so late in saying this but HAPPY {belated} BIRTHDAY!!! I hope you had a wonderful birthday weekend!! 🙂

    And I love your new race goal. Congrats!

  8. HAPPY LATE BIRTHDAY!! And OMG Fiiiinally. Welcome to the certifiable club, it only gets a little crazier from here (Ultra, what?)… 😉 93 days away?! Time to get BUSY, lady!

Leave a Reply

