Without change there is no incentive for improvement

The holidays have arrived at my house. I wrapped a few presents last night, while watching Dumb & Dumber. That’s what happens when the only Christmas movies are on Lifetime.

I read an inspirational article that is one for the bookmarks. It’s an article about rejuvenation. Maybe it’s the cold weather, shorter days, but it’s important to take time to breathe so you can bounce back stronger. Many of us will bank on the New Year to issue our resolutions, but you have the power to flip that switch whenever you want. That whole “don’t put off tomorrow what you can do today” hoopla.

I stumbled across a Men’s Health article, The Larry Fitzgerald Workout: Failure as Fuel by Jason Feifer. I would quote the whole thing, but you better move your mouse over and entertain yourself. Don’t bottom out to find motivation. Here are some fundamentals worth noting:

  • Athletes talk a lot about clearing their minds. It isn’t about letting loose. It’s about gaining control. When you focus intently on something, the way Fitzgerald does with football, you can grow to resent it. A job, a weight-loss regimen–these things take time and energy. They’ll consume your life if you let them. But you need balance.
  • “You can never let anything distract you from your main objective,” Fitzgerald says. “My only goal is to be great. That’s all I want. That’s all I ever aspire to be. Greatness is something nobody can ever take away from you, no matter what happens. So I put all my energy and focus into my craft.”
  • Tell someone your goals and you’ll raise that person’s expectations as well as your own. Remember that the next time you’re trying to lose weight or kick a bad habit. With others watching, you’ll feel an obligation to keep going.
  • Once you feel in control of your time, you have renewed strength to tackle your biggest challenges.
  • So expand yourself. Head to a hiking trail or take in a woodworking class. Make time for something new, and the old won’t weigh you down. You can be your own good influence.
  • Courtesy of Jason Feifer
    Christmas Classic: Santa always leaves oranges and apples in our stockings, along with candy…and a Christmas ornament.

25 responses to “Without change there is no incentive for improvement

  1. I am not allowed to watch D&D with anyone but myself, since I can quote the entire movie. As Lloyd Christmas said “out with bad, in with the good”, need sometimes to remove those negative thoughts and just go out and do it. Strong mind brings a strong body.

  2. GAAH… I so completely and absolutely agree with clearing your mind – being hyper focused is good if you can Let It Go, otherwise it can be debilitating. This definitely goes hand in hand with being “in control of your time”.

    Great article – thanks, Nichole. I really needed it this month! 😀

  3. This is a GREAT list, thanks for posting it! And PS. I had to laugh at the oranges in the stocking reference, I get one every year in mine, even from my husband who picked up where my mom left off with the tradition 😉

  4. This is basically MY brain, speaking through this Fitzgerald dude…. except that he’s slightly more accomplished in the world of athletics, apparently. 😉

    Seriously though, this is basically a list I live by. Be balanced, KNOW your goals and focus on them, let others hold yourself accountable – say your goal out loud an make it REAL! And go hike that trail today, or twist yourself into a crazy yogi pose, or let your butt get whooped by CrossFit ;)…or All of the above.

  5. yes m’am! Favorite quote….◦Once you feel in control of your time, you have renewed strength to tackle your biggest challenges!
    Thanks for this inspiration today!
    LC

  6. Great article!! I love the part about telling someone else and therefore raising your own expectations and chances of succeeding…I will be doing this one:) Love the apples and oranges tradition. Dumb and Dumber will never get old to me!!!

  7. I love the part about feeling on control of your time! This is a big one for me lately. We always had oranges and nuts in our stocking – like nuts that you need a nutcracker to eat. And candy canes and other fun things like gift cards to Blockbuster. 🙂

  8. That article def sounds awesome and you’re so right about the BS with the ‘New Year, New You’ nonesense! I think the key is to focus on balance and to strive in new ways to reach new goals. Sometimes we need to take a step back to see that we only need to go around the wall instead of trying to bust through it. 🙂

  9. I think just about every point inspired me! Thanks so much! I’ve really been diving in to too much sugary treats lately! With 2 more work parties and a wedding this weekend, I know by Sunday I’m going to be feeling blah. I guess I just have to keep balance in mind!! As long as I’m working out and still consuming lots of fruits and veggies, a few extras won’t be the end of me!! WHo doesn’t love all the holiday goodies!! ??

  10. Thanks for the mid-week inspiration! 🙂 I don’t think many people see winter as a time of rejuvenation — it’s a time for hibernation, and for putting things off until the new year. I love this perspective. It’s so much more positive!!

Leave a Reply

