Marathon Weekend Rewind

KUDOS to all those NYC Marathon champs! Way to go. That race is intense on many levels. Our own “Ice Man” (from Friday) had a great showing and we are all SUPER proud his feat. I think I’d sleep with that medal for at least a week. You can stay updated on all the news and recaps from the race over at The New York Times Marathon section. Does anyone else think that if Al Roker can do the race, so could you?

These weekends are getting too darn short. It’s a marathon to squeeze everything in to two days.

For the second year in a row some friends and I attended the Chomp and Stomp Festival – a local festival featuring a chili cook-off, 5K run, art market, and beer! I mean is there a more perfect combination? I am not a huge fan of chili, but I love the beer. The weather was perfect for an outdoor festival.

Sunday I worked off the festival by helping Norak train. I must admit it was a lot of fun! She’s practicing her distance, and I’m practicing my patience teaching her, kidding. We are working on opening up her tiny little stride. I am giving her my Garmin Forerunner this week, should be interesting to see how she likes it. Right now she doesn’t have a strong way to gauge distance, and the Garmin will help her mark routes.

I cannot friggin wait to take this woman shopping though. You don’t realize the importance of good gear until you try it out.

25 Little Things continues this week:

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend. Anybody have highlights to share from the NYC Marathon weekend?

19 responses to “Marathon Weekend Rewind

  1. ah, I love that quote.

    the only thing I have to say (besides the second place winner was 20 seconds behind first, and is from Portland !! WOO)

    okay, the only other thing? I told Jason I’m running it next year! *WHAT??*

  2. Great quote – so very true!

    That festival might be my ticket to Georgah – I Do heart me some chili (think anyone made veggie-friendly? ha, ehh….) And beer, And running! They’re onto something there…

    Thankful for: having a roomie that reminds me not to be grumpy on a Monday morning. 😉

  3. Not a fan of chili? I didn’t know that was possible.

    Anywho, a I have request for a post… your favorite cold weather running gear. I’m getting away right now with t-shirts and yoga pants, but am nervous about the cold. I figured you would be the perfect person to give a rundown of what to wear head to toe?

    Thank you in advance 🙂

  4. Just posted my experience volunteering at the NYC marathon. It was awesome. Seeing elites close up, handing out water to runners…next best thing to actually running it.

  5. You must take pictures of the new gear she gets! So fun!!
    And dessert first, tis the way of life!
    Cheers,
    LC

    p.s.
    Cant wait for the NYC recap from Ice Man

  6. Sounds like a really fun weekend – but yes, packed. It would be nice to have 3-day weekends every weekend, right? I love that you are patiently helping your mom train. Speaking of gear, Billy and I need help! We are running in all the wrong clothes. It doesn’t bother me as much as it bothers him…but come race day, I need to be wearing the right gear!

  7. There was so much fun energy in the city this weekend! I felt REALLY inspired to train and run one… I always feel this way, but this time it actually felt possible. Praying that I can do it one day, injury-free!

  8. I am loving the chronicles of Norak. I am helping my mom train. We didn’t speak for a few hours after a quick three miler on Saturday. Love that mother-daughter bond!

    She proceeded to rock the World Run Day 10K on Sunday. Maybe she was listening to me after all…

  9. That festival sounds amazing!! No, I do not think there is a better combination 🙂

    I love that you’re working with your mom to train her. Definitely love following BOTH of your training now.

    No highlights from the NYCM (I only got to watch it on TV), but I was so swept up in the madness that I already entered the lottery for next year. Fingers crossed!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

