Slow Down & Start 25 Days of the Little Things

Did everyone have a wicked time over the Halloween weekend? I personally had a riot. Got in some bowling with pals (I was awful), managed a tough/hilly 12-miler and took part in a friendly Chili Cook-Off competition. The perfect type of busy weekend. And we finally carved our pumpkin.

Everyone see the mummy in the blinds?!

Today somewhat officially kicks off another holiday season, although if you know me I’ve been listening to Christmas music since mid October. AccuRadio Holidays, many cheerful stations to choose from.

It’s November, which correlates into the month of giving – for us Americans at least. I have many things to be thankful for, especially as November marks the one-year anniversary of my first half-marathon. With the yearly hustle and bustle, time to slow down and be thankful. I plan to give thanks throughout the month. Julie over at Savvy Eats has me hooked on a brilliant idea:

25 Days of the Little Things: Using some scrap paper, cut out 25 slips. You can number each one and collect them in a jar or basket. Starting today, write one Little Thing that you are thankful for on the back of the corresponding slip. And come Thanksgiving, you will have at least 25 Little Things to be grateful for. You could write things down, tweet, etc. Doesn’t have to be fancy!

I am planning on making a “Giving Chain,” and threading all the things I am thankful for together and sharing with my nanny at Thanksgiving. Old people eat that stuff up! I am sure the dudes are rolling their eyes, but let me have my girly moment of craftiness.

I should be thankful for all the magical support around our Disney Half Marathon announcement. Thank y’all! What’s the one thing you are thankful for today?

31 responses to “Slow Down & Start 25 Days of the Little Things

  1. “Old people eat that stuff up!” TRUE story. They also love them some snail-mail. Maybe you can send her a weekly batch, in an envelope, to keep her interest piqued…

    Today, I’m thankful that I’m NOT SORE anymore. I feel sort of normal. Almost.

  2. I love this idea! I’m going to mention it on my blog if that’s okay?
    Today I’m thankful for my friends, this weekend a few unlikely friends stood up for me and it really stuck out in my mind.

  3. I am thankful for my wonderful family and having centralized heating in my home! It’s starting to get really chilly around here and I am so grateful to be warm!! Great idea with the “little things” in a jar.

  4. Arts and crafts, nice. I’m thankful for the support of friends and family, without them this past year would have been much more difficult and unfun.

  5. today I am thankful for rest days. I am taking one. I have an Epsom bath and a 90 minute massage scheduled this afternoon – I am thankful that as well.

  6. Pingback: Whistling Kettle — Savvy Eats·

  7. That pumpkin came out awesome.

    And I loved “old people eat that stuff up.” Hilarious. They totally do.

    I’m thankful for that phrase in your blog post today. Totally made me smile during a headache with an hour left at work. Much needed.

  8. Everyone has some seriously impressive carving skills. Bradley carved a very easy “E” (his last name and my future last name will be Elliott) and called it a day.

    Weekend was packed with all things fun. It was a hoot.

    I heard someone say that forcing yourself to do something fun on Friday night instead of staying home and being lazy makes the weekend feel ALOT longer. I experimented with that idea this weekend and I’m officially a believer.

  9. I love your November “Little Things” plan! It’s amazing how much positivity you can bring into your life just by giving thanks each day. During this time of year, Adam and I text each other a “little thing” each day. It brings a smile to my face.

  10. Ok first of all, you carved the best pumpkin I have seen yet — I LOVE it!!!

    And I am hooked on the 25 days idea! I want to do it too. Love the chain idea, old people do eat that stuff up! 🙂

  11. I love this idea for the month of November! Such a great way to note the little things in life that make you happy and thankful. 🙂

    Oh and I am totally going to check out that AccuRadio website! I LOVE the holiday season. I have been singing a few Christmas songs already too!

  12. Pingback: Savvy Recaps: 11.7.10. — Savvy Eats·

  13. I’m loving the little things movement too! I’ve been trying to keep up with it on my blog, it really does make you sit back and gain new perspective, ya know? I just stumbled on your blog as a result of the 25 things over at Savvy Eats, too. Looking forward to reading more from you 🙂

  14. Pingback: Paying Tribute: Veterans Day « Live for the Run·

  15. Pingback: Turkey Day Countdown « Live for the Run·

  16. Pingback: Thanskgiving is here: “I haven’t even finished eating all of my Halloween candy” « Live for the Run·

Leave a Reply

