Breakfast of Champions

Looking for the Great Pumpkin!

I had an insanely nice weekend. I spent time with my family and friends, shopped and went to an apple orchard and pumpkin patch(s). We have not one but two pumpkins this year. Better news – Norak and I should have a race announcement to share soon that will knock your running socks straight off!!

Last week if you saw on Twitter I brought up a discussion about fueling before a morning workout. I get out of bed around 5ish and the last thing I am thinking about is peanut butter or a Powerbar. I do however want to make sure I am maximizing my time and pushing my limits during the hour or more I workout. Therefore, I decided to experiment.

Sticky situation here.

I tried downing half a Powerbar Energy Gel; afraid of what a full gel might do to my stomach. With the gel, I noticed that I yawned less and was more focused during my exercises. I also took a gel before spin class and I certainly felt more of a boost in energy. The fuel that worked the best for me was surprisingly Gatorade Prime. It’s not as thick as a gel and you get a good bit of gu in a pouch. Women’s Health actually agreed it was a smart breakfast fuel choice.

I am giving myself a crash course in fueling. I wouldn’t think twice about taking an energy supplement for an evening workout, and I should apply that mantra to my mornings. This week, I am going to continue eating something before my morning workout; I think it’s worth sticking to a few more times and seeing how I feel and perform.

What’s your take? Do you have a fueling philosophy?

17 responses to “Breakfast of Champions

  1. I am with you on fueling for morning workouts. It’s hard when you’re not up long enough to let breakfast settle but working out on E isn’t ideal either. I am having a problem trying to find a really good post-run (longer run) recovery. Maybe I need to look into gels/gus for that too…

  2. whew, I can’t stomach those things during runs – definitely couldn’t do it first thing in the mornin’. Hands down to you!

    I’m not a fan of munchies before an Early workout either. I usually go with a glass of fruit juice, half a banana, or something similar for a dose of suga 🙂

  3. I love Gatorade Prime… I think I like it because I can’t really do gels, especially in the morning – I’m always up at 5 also – and cannot eat that early. I’m looking forward to hearing more about what you experiment with! 😀

  4. When I work out first thing in the morning, I don’t eat anything. I like to eat a large snack before bed and it helps me sleep, plus it gives me plenty of gas in the morning.

  5. I try to eat a snack ~ 1-2 hours before my evening workouts but in the morning, I honestly have to say I feel like I do great on zero fuel. I know it’s wrong but it works for me, unless it’s a weekend and I get up later…but who wants to nosh on something at 5am?

  6. I can’t wait to hear about your race announcement!

    When I use to workout at 5:30a.m. I wouldn’t have anything to eat. In the winter I would bribe myself with a trip to starbucks on the way home from the park. Now my workout times vary. If I workout later thing in the morning I have chia pudding and a coffee 1-3 hours before.

  7. I cannot workout without some kind of fuel. Usually I have a couple crackers with PB or something. Please note: I have a stomach of steel!

    I tried GU for the first time during my marathon (nothing new on race day?!) because the volunteer handed me one and I saw “chocolate.” LOVE! It’s my new favorite fuel.

  8. This is a really good idea! Unless I’m doing a really short and easy run, I can’t really function without some fuel in the morning. But it can be tough to choke down something like PB. I use GU on all my long runs but have never thought to use it first thing in the am. I’m going to have to give it a try and see how I feel!

Leave a Reply

