Keep Rolling

Today is my Friday, wahoo! Heading to Otown to see my bro, you may know him here as “Mikey Likey.” Ready to get Disney World tired, bring it Epcot Food & Wine Festival!

See ya real soon!

As my Braves enter the “off-season” I feel I am doing the same. I need more time to figure out what’s next. Whatever that is. In the meantime I’ve been enjoying my group fitness classes. Spinning is a cross training dreamboat. I find that I push myself harder in a group, less room for slacking. Each song in the hour session is choreographed to hills/climbs, sprints, jumps, uptempo cadences, etc. While the classes are phenomenal, it’s an individual sport. You are the only person pushing yourself to the brink of breaking. It’s up to the individual to determine how hard the class will be, since you can set the level of difficulty on the bike. I will also say that a good instructor makes all the difference, that and the music. I can only pedal so hard to the Glee soundtrack before I am ready to launch my shoe at the iPod. For those that ride clip-less, most bikes have the option to clip in. Suhweet. I’ve been able to practice more fluidity in my pedal stroke in spin and it’s helped me ride more effectively when I back on the road.

Nice wheels.

Still need some selling? Get your Chick RX schooling, Spin That Tush into Gold: For about 60 minutes you’re varying from high intensity intervals to slow, recovery intervals. The result is massive calorie burn during the exercise and up to 48 hours afterward as your body attempts to restore itself to homeostatic condition.

 

 

What’s your favorite set of wheels? Bike, roller blade, Ferrari….

18 responses to “Keep Rolling

  1. my Beloved Gary (yes, my bike has a name, doesn’t everyone’s??) is my favorite, and I need to give him a tune up soon.

    we used to ride big wheels WAY past the age level for them… 😉

    and I have never been to a spin class. I think I’d like it…

  2. Spin class is one reason I miss having a gym membership. The energy in that room is powerful! And I can definitely get lazy on a bike ride by myself. Oops. I LOVE my rollerblades – use them a couple times a week. I REALLY want a bike – have been talking about it for months now but haven’t had the right month to fit it into the budget – soon, though! Happy Nichole Friday to you friend. Sounds like you have a fun weekend ahead. xo

  3. A big wheel! I spent most of my childhood on one of those. I spent most of 2009 on a spin bike 🙂

    I love spinning and I’m hoping to add it into the rotation at least once a week after the marathon.

  4. I once commented (while on a run) that Roller Blades *might* be fun to have again, at some point, and have never lived it down.

    So, I’ll go with the bike. BICI all the way!

    Have fun in O-tooown. Say hi to that mouse and give him a drink! 😉

  5. Sometimes I feel like the only one in the world who hasn’t tried spinning. Maybe after the marathon is over I’ll take a class, but I have to admit, I’m kind of nervous about it. I can’t explain why, but group exercise classes give me anxiety. Maybe it’s the control freak in me… But, it sounds like you have a lot of control in spin, so it probably would be right up my alley.

  6. i’ve only tried spinning once, and it was right after a 45 minute cardio session at the gym. yeah…not my greatest idea ever…

    have a great time at the food and wine fest!! you’ll have to let us know if you find something good 🙂

Leave a Reply

