The Nutty Professor & A Twinkie A Day

Doesn’t that sound squishy and nice? Well Kansas State University Nutrition Professor Mark Haub wanted to find out how squishy he would get if he ate nothing but junk food for 30 days. Via AOL News, “He is living on a diet of high-calorie, high-fat foods, such as snack cakes, powdered doughnuts and sticky buns, to show that foods commonly regarded as junk can actually help people lose weight.”

I came across this sweet study courtesy of The Diet Book Junkie. I mean I get it, there was Supersize Me and there’s been countless other ‘let me crap up my body and see what happens’ diets. It’s evokes humor, gets boatloads of attention but talk about taking a toll on the innards. Oy.

If you go by calories in versus calories out, then technically I could figure out a way to try to survive on candy corn (help me now), but this is why we keep saying, “nutrients.” Sure the scale may go down, along with energy, good cholesterol, and so on. Maybe I am bitter because I am trying to go junk-free but can we start studying the man that only had fruit for a month or something? Oh wait, of course he would, “Haub plans to gain weight next month by eating putative health foods, such as fruits and vegetables, lean proteins and whole grains.” Seems like a sticky situation and I’ll be curious to see how Mr Haub is feeling at the end of all this. I personally cringe at the fact of trying to train and have that kind of lifestyle.

Coming down from my soap box, looky at the beautimous mountains!

3,000 of my fellow UGA fans in Boulder!

Mountain triking!

And don't forget Denver!

What are your thoughts on these diet/food extremes? Would you rather be forced to live on a diet of just Twinkies or Pop Tarts?

22 responses to “The Nutty Professor & A Twinkie A Day

  1. GOOD LORD. This would only happen in Kansas. Just sayin.

    Let’s keep in mind that this “Professor of Nutrition” is NOT a Registered Dietitian. Needed to throw that out there…for my sanity’s sake 😉

  2. I read that blog post, too! It kinda makes me sick. Literally- if I ate like that, I would be sick for days and days…

    I get that they’re trying to prove a point. But just because you’re technically losing weight, that does not mean you are doing your body any favors. I’m sure some internal organs working overtime to process all the foreign substances would agree…

  3. Pingback: Eventually I’ll Have Lemonade « Dietitian on the Run·

  4. it really gives me a headache just thinking about it… there’s a reason those twinkies can last 30 years or something frightening like that, they’re not food.

    Nutty Professor, indeed.

    Colorado looks fun!! 🙂

  5. I could live on frozen Twinkies no problem. I have consumed many of them over my life, but probably not had one in over 7 years. Might stop on way home tonight and pick some up for my honeymoon.

  6. it would be interesting to read the final doctor’s report. sure the man lost weight, but was it fat, water, or muscle? what were his energy levels like, his brain function, did he suffer nutrient deficiency? (i would guess it wouldn’t be good.) i guess in his defense, Haub wasn’t trying to promote a healthy way of eating, he was just trying to ask the question. all i can say is, better him than me!!! :p

  7. If I had to choose, I’d choose pop tarts.

    but ugh, I imagine he felt like crap afterwards. How horrible.

    and I absolutely love boulder. I went ther efor an OU/CU football game once and fell in love!

  8. I just stumbled on your blog and I love it! I’m sort of getting converted into a Dawgs Fan (my bf went there), but I’m not sure this is the season to jump on the bandwagon.

    I would have to choose pop tarts!

  9. This is absolutely disgusting! I hate these sort of publicity stunts. Why is it always about weight and not over-all health?? ….but as much as this disgusts me, I know I’ll be reading all about what happened at the end of the month. It’s one of those morbid curiosities.

    And I’d choose Pop Tarts for sure. At least they’re fortified with vitamins and minerals and part of a healthy breakfast! 😉 hahaha

Leave a Reply

