I Think I Can, I Think I Can

Nothing like an awesome toothache to keep you up all hours of the night. I am captain cranky today.

At least I wasn’t up all night pondering who the next judge of American Idol is anymore. One of life’s great mysteries. I am not sure who has better hair in the promo? What’s the BFD here? Can’t we just let Carrie Underwood be crowned the queen of that crap and call it a day, let it go FOX.

I'm Just Jenny Been Around the Block

This week is zooming on by. I’ve been sober clean off sugar for 3 full days. This is typically when someone offers you a cookie as a reward for good behavior, blerg. In all seriousness, I feel good, great even, but I have a ways to go. I had no idea at all the sugar buzz floating the interwebs lately. Tara Parker Pope over The New York Times is reading my mind! In Worries About Sweeteners, Think of All Sugars. Not to be outdone, the Corn Refiners Association, which represents firms that make the syrup, has also been trying to improve their image with ad campaigns promoting it as a natural ingredient made from corn. Sweet Surprise?! Hmm, I am not sure what to think. Where’s Bill Nye the Science Guy when you need him.

BE the engine!

I also stumbled upon an amazing study that should motivate us all to get moving. No more crying about not having the workout gene in you. (I mean that in a sweet, drill sergeant kind of way.) Women’s Health Magazine is reporting:
See yourself fit. You’ll be more motivated to move if working out is part of your self-image, says a study in The International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity.

As crazy as it might sound, if I want to workout after work I immediately go home and put on my running shoes. Sometimes I have NO desire to move, but if I start walking around my house in my kicks I start feeling the need to at least walk or do something outside. Trickeration kids!

How do you see yourself as “fit”? From enjoying hiking to rollerblading, what does your inner workout Barbie or Ken say about you?

16 responses to “I Think I Can, I Think I Can

  1. oh gosh, I went over to milktoof and worm-holed there for a good while. oops, let’s get back to Nichole!! 😀

    and now YOU’RE reading MY mind… I was JUST thinking on this a couple days ago… I used to coach special olympics in weight lifting, and was pretty much a badass. I was playing competitive tennis at the time too – gun show. 😉 I was talking about “my kids” (the weight lifting s.o. team) and thinking of myself, and how I was then vs. now… I’m fit, but in a less BIG way, you know?

    made me want to bench press something. 🙂

  2. Where’s Bill Nye ANYWAY?! We always need him and his bow tie.

    I agree 200% that if you See yourself as “fit”, or value activity as part of your lifestyle, it makes All the difference (or trickeration) in the world! Kind of a way to hold yourself accountable, do what makes ya feel goood!

  3. I see myself as fit for sure, and this helps me the days I just want to lay around and do nothing. I have still be working on my running!! Next time I see you, I’m totally going to be able to run with you and keep up! (Wishful thinking) but I am going to try!

  4. I love that idea of seeing yourself fit!

    I see myself as fit because I workout so dang much! AND my free time (nights and weekends) are always filled with active activities. Even though I sit in an office 40 hours a week, I pride myself on being really active.

    Yay!

  5. Sometimes I just look down at my legs and I see fit. They are solid tree trunks of muscle. If I’m not going to wear skinny jeans, I damn well want to run with them! I know I am fit.

  6. I got in a huge debate with a lobbyist from the Sugar Association at my conference yesterday. We were discussing the change to “corn sugar” and the woman actually tried to tell me that sugar is not broken down the same way as HFCS. I gave her a little lesson in organic chemistry and explained that they are the same, calorie for calorie, and are therefore both poison.

  7. First of all, congrats on the three days! I ate some candy corn today and thought of you (though then I immediately felt guilty for not yet committing to cut back on the sugar.)

    And I am a huge proponent of the power of visualization! You have to see yourself a certain way and believe you can do something if you want to make it possible!

Leave a Reply

