Keeping Score – Confessions of a Sugarholic

In words of Usher or Madonna, this is my confession. If you remember exactly one week ago, I got on board with FitSugar’s “Give It Up For the Get Fit For 2010 Challenge.” You want a weekly check-in?! I got your weekly check-in. I made it all the way to day TWO. Let me explain:

Augustus Gloop: I feel very sorry for Wonka. It's gonna cost him a fortune in fudge.

I should have known anything with the word “sugar” in the title of the challenge would be brutal. It’s a long story on why I cracked and I felt I should be honest with everyone. Part of me isn’t disappointed in giving in, because I still believe somewhere in moderation. But to give this the proper college try, I recommitted myself to the challenge yesterday. Andrew has successfully hidden my candy corn. Desperate times call for desperate measures. Can’t give an alcoholic one tiny sip, ya know?

And for everyone, including my own hubs, who thinks candy corn is the worst sugary concoction: “The worst thing about Halloween is, of course, candy corn. It’s unbelievable to me. Candy corn is the only candy in the history of America that’s never been advertised. And there’s a reason. All of the candy corn that was ever made was made in 1911.” – Lewis Black (view the full bit here, hilarious)

FitSugar 1. Me 0.

Speaking of keeping score, what a bizarre-o weekend in sports. I thought the college football games on Saturday gave me rapid heartbeat, turns out the Michigan State head coach literally had heart palpitations. After making one of the ballsiest calls during Saturday’s overtime last second shocker over Notre Dame, poor coach suffered a heart attack. “Football head coach Mark Dantonio will not be on the sidelines for Saturday’s game against Northern Colorado after suffering a heart attack shortly after the Spartans’ overtime victory over Notre Dame early Sunday morning.” – via The State News

Maybe it was the moon, but down in Miami Chicago Cubs player Tyler Colvin was hospitalized after being hit by splintered bat. Chances of that?! Clip is below and I promise it’s not gruesome, damn painful though.

So what’s the worst holiday candy: 1. Peeps 2. Valentine Candy Hearts 3. Candy Corn 4. Marshmallow Santas?

19 responses to “Keeping Score – Confessions of a Sugarholic

  1. Hey, I would have to get my hubby to hide the candy corn too!It’s not just the candy corn I LOVE this time of year, it’s the PUMPKINS!! They are amazing! Talk about a sugar rush!

    I acturally enjoy all the holiday candies you mentioned lol. My least favorite being Valentine’s Hearts. But I love holidays so anything to be festive!

  2. Alcoholism and candy corn addictions are very similar, true story. Glad you have a hubs to take those desperate measures…. 😉 (kidding, obvi)

    So, by the pictures, can I assume it was a Candy Corn CUPCAKE?! Nom.

    I think Peeps might be the worst – I absolutely despise those things. But, marshmellow Santas come in a close second. So, we’re seeing a them here, no? Leave marshmellows out of the holidays! They’re meant for campfires only.

  3. oh, yes… peeps. ick. I have a PEEP MAKER, purchased after several margaritas with my friend Josh. I could not be stopped. I still have not used it though, maybe I’ll bust it out for Easter ’11. 😀

    good for you for getting back on that wagon, even if it dragged you for a while. I like to picture you swimming in the chocolate river with a smile on your face. okay, it can be a chocolate POOL, not open water chocolate! 🙂

  4. I saw that clip of the dude from the Cubs getting hit by the bat…insane! Nothing better than seeing ND lose, can’t stand them.

    Haha, love the picture of Augustus Gloop.

  5. Hello, my name is Lauren, and I am addicted to candy corn. Every year I wait for Sept to roll around so those big huge bags start popping up in stores. And once I start eating, I cannot stop. Have you ever had it with peanuts?? Or better yet — peanut butter?? It’s heavenly, I tell ya. And it helps you eat even more than usual, because the saltiness balances out the overly sweet candy.

    Oh sorry, I guess I shouldn’t be saying that….you’re trying to eat LESS! haha I admire you for being honest and owning up to your relapse. Eating less sugar is super hard, especially this time of year. Good luck the second time around!

  6. I like candy corn, peeps, and marshmallow santas. What does that say about me?!

    Even better than candy corn…autumn mix! The pumpkins are like mutated mounds of candy goodness. Made with “real” honey! I’d say it’s running fuel 🙂

    Honestly, I commend you for giving it a second shot. That’s one challenge I would lose. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

