Friday Finds

Holy macaroni! Why do all the short weeks seem so long? OK, I’ll quit complaining. This weekend is going to be jammed packed with crazies. Tonight I am taking Meghan to her first ever NL MLB game (she’s only been to ONE her whole life, tear). Go Bravos!

Also this weekend, I have mom-in-law birthday festivities at our casa. I am a nervous entertainer. Large gatherings of people rattle me, but these people are my family, I’ll live. Appreciate everyone who came to my dessert rescue yesterday (yes, you Heather!). I have to think of a cake/brownie thing of some-sort to bake. I luhve baking but am having baker’s block.

Maybe I’ll make a gigantic Oreo cake:

We are going to need more milk.

You kids like hosting parties or just attending? Any thoughts on making a cake vs brownies?

24 responses to “Friday Finds

  1. Knowing me, I’d spend all that time stacking those Oreos perfectly only to knock it over right before guests showed up. I love cupcakes still. If you put them on tiered trays (or stacked cake plates) they even look like cake on a table.

  2. I’m a nervous hostess, too! Especially in the hour leading up to the party…but then once everyone is there, I’m usually good to go! Billy is a fabulous, laid back entertainer. I imagine you to be a perfect hostess with a big smile on your face…and a glass of wine in your hand (just like me)! xoxo

  3. So glad I am not the only one feeling like the short weeks are longer. Geez, didn’t think this one would ever end. I get really high strung entertaining too b/c I want it all to be perfect. I do try to make foods that I can make in advance and just heat up before the party though. Makes a huge difference.

    What about cupcakes? You could do a few different flavors perhaps???

  4. I *LOVE* *LOVE* *LOVE* being a hostess!! 🙂 (is that surprising At All??) 🙂

    I’d go with brownies… if you are already nervous, having to frost a cake would add to it… you can make awesome brownies with peanut butter or toffee pieces or something equally decadent, and they don’t need to “look perfect”, they’re a brownie! 🙂

    I wish I could be there, I would bake you awesome things and help you co host. Rogue in hand 😉

    You’ll be fab.

  5. I LOVE that cake! Where did you find it? I’m definitely a fan of party planning, maybe because I was raised by a mother who could out do Martha Stewart with minimal effort. I didn’t quite inherit her skills, but I still have a good time with it. Hope all goes well for you.

  6. Thank you for coming to my blog! Make the Pumpkin-Loaf! :)…actually yeah, I’d be all over anything chocolate…

    And, yes, short weeks are SOOOO long aren’t they?! Your so beautiful by the way.

  7. I miss Braves games!

    Perhaps make something fall-related? Pumpkin bread? Carrot cake? Carrot cake is selfish… I just love it 🙂

    And ok, I’m done complaining about running… I’ll look myself in the mirror tonight and say 3 times “I am a runner, I am a runner…”

  8. I’m a bit of a nervous hostess but I do loving gathering with everyone! My family relies on ice cream cake for every birthday. I love the crunchy center!

    Have fun! I know you’ll be the hostess with the mostest!

  9. Haha, I love that cake!! Sounds like a good plan to me! 🙂

    I think brownies are easier and always a crowd pleaser, but I’m partial to chocolate cake with a thick layer of frosting, myself. Good luck with the entertaining! And have fun! 🙂

  10. Our poor dawgs 😦

    Cheesecake is delish- and it’s already made at publix bakery. Or Sara Lee makes a fab one haha. I made an oreo cheesecake once and forgot to add a key ingredient. Sugar. Needless to say that didn’t turn out too well. good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

