Twas the Night Before, the Night Before the Tri

Holy cannot sleep this week Batman. I have this tiny little pit in my stomach, a swim, bike, run pit. I figure I’ll be honest with you. I mean I know I’ll most likely be fine this weekend during the triathlon but it’s the whole “I have never swam 400 yards EVER in my life, much less decided to follow a long swim with an even longer bike ride” thing. On Sunday morning, when you wake up and are getting the sleepy from your eyes, know that I’m probably somewhere in Georgia, peeing in a lake.

But seriously, I needed some Iron encouragement from our pal Elena. My final triumphant words of wisdom:
(a) ENJOY YOURSELF. This is your FIRST triathlon and only FIRST…so enjoy every second.
(b) Bring a small towel for T1. You’ll have wet and dirty feet when you exit the water, so you will want to quickly wipe your feet before you put socks and shoes on.
(c) I put my sunglasses in my helmet when I set up the transition area. That way, I know I have to put them on with my helmet. Otherwise, I tend to fumble around with them.
(d) ENJOY YOURSELF and breathe
(e) I am not sure what you are wearing so let me know if you have questions there [I already took Elena’s rec and went to a custom tri shop and have a fun outfit, that was the easy part!]
(f) Don’t worry so much about the bike lengths. The main thing is don’t draft off of anyone, always pass to the left (quickly pass people), and make sure there is about 3 bike lengths or so. During hills and things like that, it will be impossible and that’s OK.
(g) Say thank you to the volunteers – just a thing I have.
(h) ENJOY YOURSELF

Thank you all for your support!! Doing a race with my husband and good friend is going to make for a perfect first-tri experience.

And for those of you, like my own brother, out there that have no desire to do a tri and could care less about the tri, that’s OK, I have a little something for you too. They say if you are afraid of something to make fun of it. Here’s to you swim! Everybody loves a montage.

Friendly reminder, if you haven’t entered my Ryders Eyewear giveaway you have until Friday. Do it, do it…

What are your plans this weekend? If you HAD to do one leg of the tri, what would you do – swim, bike or run?

26 responses to “Twas the Night Before, the Night Before the Tri

  1. Would you please come give me a pep talk before my first half-mary? I think that now I have the stomach pit thing for you. But, seriously, you are going to be fine. Better than fine in fact. You’re so fine your face shows up on race posters! I’ve heard that its a good idea to wait to start the swim and stick towards the back so you don’t get kicked in the face… because that would not be fine.

  2. GOOD GOOD GOOD LUCK!!!

    That is 3 good lucks to you!!!!! Your going to rock it, you know!!!!

    That video made me giggle!!!!

  3. Good luck!! This last minute pep talk is enough to get ME excited and ready to race! I’m sure you’ll do awesome — just relax (as much as possible) and enjoy it! Can’t wait to hear about how it goes. 😉

    Oh, and if I only did one leg of a tri it would definitely be the run. That’s the only thing I’m actually confident about at this point.

  4. The first piece of advice was said to me over and over before the marathon, too – it’s you ONLY First Tri, enjoy it 🙂 Every once in a while, pause, and think “Holy WHOA – I am doing a Triathlon!” and remind yourself that it’s pretty badass.

    You know my answer to that question – Run, baby, Run!

  5. I’m so proud of you and excited for you!!!!!!!!!!! Please post pics of the perfect tri outfit. I swear if my travel-machine was working, I’d be there to cheer you on in person…but I’ll totally be cheering you on in spirit. To answer your question – probably the run. ❤

  6. I would most definitely run. Then bike. Then sit on the edge of the lake and cry. 😉

    …only because I don’t know how to swim!!

    you are going to be awesome and have fun!! I cannot wait to hear all about it and see your outfit!!

    I’ll be thinking of you Sunday, cheering you on from Duck country!

    That is all great advice up there – most important, HAVE FUN!! 🙂

  7. You are going to rock it! If I had to do one leg, it would be the swim so I could get it over with! Waiting would just psyche me out!!

  8. Good luck, you firecracker! I have every ounce of confidence in you and can’t wait for all the dirty deets of the race!

    A tri for me? We can do a relay…I’ll stick with the run. I’m deathly afraid of those murky waters.

    I’ll be cheering in spirit!

Leave a Reply

