Ryders Eyewear – Along for the Ride, er Run & Our First Giveaway!

My future's so bright...

I wear my sunglasses at night. OK, that’s not totally true but now that you are stuck singing that song in your head, I would like to wear my sunglasses during the day, during a run, but alas the only ones I have found slip/slide/fall or make me look like a total dude. Don’t judge, you know it’s true.

Move over Kayne, tis time I introduced y’all to my new running shades, Ryders Eyewear. I slid on the Hex shades for the first time in Florida as I was gearing up for a long run. I figured that if any pair of sunglasses was going to hold up, the beating Florida sun was no better place for a trial run, pun intended.

First Thoughts: Very lightweight, feather-like.

Comfort: Even at mile 6 I wasn’t tugging on the ear-pieces or pushing on the nose-piece. They stayed put, thanks to anti-slip nose and temple pads. Nothing’s worse that when your glasses rub your nose or ear, but that was not a problem.

Look: Um, I’ll sacrifice hawtness over getting through hotness. I am not a huge fan of the look, but all sports glasses tend to have the same basic shape. Personally, I always think I look stupid in glasses, so no offense.

Overall Performance: My face was happy. You best believe I’m wearing these again. I am impressed with the extremely lightweight design. They are simplistic but get the job done. I haven’t even tried the interchangeable lenses yet! File that under “things to look forward to.”

I know some people are not fans of running in sunglasses, but for me as a runner and now cycling, it’s imperative I find a pair to hang in there through my random escapades. Bye bye bugs and UV rays!

Are you sitting down? We’re doing our first giveaway here on Live for the Run!! (confetti flies) The adventurous team at Ryders wants you to enjoy a pair as well. The Ryders Zephyr’s are calling your name!

To enter, all you have to do is tell me why you would love a new pair of shades and what’s your favorite movie character that wore sunglasses. You know, like Arnold in The Terminator or something.
*UPDATE: You have until Friday to enter. I’ll announce the winner next week!
Are you a fan of sunglasses while working out? If you aren’t rocking the glasses is there another way you shield your face from the flying crazy bugs and sunshine?

37 responses to “Ryders Eyewear – Along for the Ride, er Run & Our First Giveaway!

  1. Yay for giveaways! I am in need of some that are light and feel like they stay in place. Would love to try these. Hmmmm…. Movies with sunglasses? How about we go old school with Risky Business – Tom cruise?

  2. Oooh I can NOT function without shades- my eyes are wimps. I’ve bought the same pair probably 4 times and they eventually break…perhaps it’s time to try new ones?! haha.

    And I’m pretty sure the men in black are the ultimate shade-wearing duo. 😉

  3. Oh I have to wear sunglasses when I’m running. I have super sensitive eyes, so I always have a million pairs of sunglasses. I could totally use a new pair for running though. I like mine ok (they were cheap), but when I have a hat on, they don’t fit nearly as well and make my ears stick out and then start flopping up and down. Not cool, not cool.

    Movie character with shades? That’s not fair, I suck when it comes to things like that…. Does the goggles old Johnny wears in Willy Wonka count? Just ’cause I like JD.

  4. Cool giveaway! I am not much of a runner, but I could definitely use a pair for my afternoon walks and bike rides. The Miami sun can be brutal!

    As for movies, I would go with Morpheus from the Matrix. Those were some pretty awesome shades!

  5. First giveaway- WHOOP WHOOP!!
    I’d love these shades because I am outdoors all the time and my normal sunglasses fall off my face when I wog, lean over to pull weeds, climb mountains (ok, ok… go hiking), etc.

    Favorite sunglasses? Tom Cruise’s aviators in Top Gun. HAWT. Too bad he’s a nut job now 🙂

  6. I haven’t tried running with sunglasses before but I believe they could be helpful. I actually wrote an article awhile back about the benefits of running in sunglasses.

    Have you ever seen the different shades they wore in Back to the Future? Those are some cool shades and I believe back in the 80’s or 90’s they used to sell replica Back to the Future shades at Pizza Hut. I had an awesome pair.

  7. I have been running in sunglasses all season in the hot, sweaty, city summer and I have yet to find a pair I like. Aside from keeping me from squinting and looking silly while running, running in in glasses protects your eyes and skin around it- I need a good pair!

    One of my favorite movies is Shawshank Redemption and I love the mirrored glasses in it!

  8. these glasses sound PERFECT… I used to have a pair similar to these, with the grippy grippy so they don’t slip! I gave them to someone and never stopped kicking myself!! I would love these 🙂

    Big Lebowski. The Dude wears sunglasses a lot, and at one point has to fish them out of the toilet.

    “Obviously you’re not a golfer” 🙂

  9. I feel like my eyes were aching yesterday, despite my shades, suggesting that I need a new pair!

    And fav character…. I’d have to go with the blues brothers!

  10. I have been looking for sunglasses for my upcoming (first-eeek) triathlon. Everything I try either falls off or truthfully I just hate looking ridiculous/manly in them. I think I would love these 🙂

    I have to say my favorite is the sunglasses worn (well put on) the baby in The Hangover!

  11. I haven’t been able to find the “right” sunglasses for running so this would be amazing since you’ve done the test-run for me. 🙂 Billy is sitting here and says THE DUDE from Big Lebowski is the first movie character that came to mind for sweet shades.

  12. I’d love a new pair of shades so that I don’t have to wear my regular street shades on runs. My eyes are SUPER sensitive to the sun. If I’m outside and its not pitch black out, I’m sporting shades.

    Favorite character that wore shades would have to be Ferris Bueller!

  13. I’m gonna put it out there, you DO look pretty “hawt” in those thangs. Just sayin’!

    😉 I would LOVE to try a pair of these. Why? because 1) I either run/ride sunglasses-less, meaning I’ll probably go blind sooner rather than later from this crazy CO Sun and 2) When I do ride with them, I borrow D’s. Tell me That’s not manly. Ow owww 😉

  14. It would be awesome to get a pair of Ryders Zephyr’s because I always tell myself to get a pair when I’m running outside and the sun is hurting my eyes but being a post-university grad I’m hesitant to shell out the money for a random pair I’m not sure about at the running store.
    My favorite movie character wearing sunglasses has to be Johnny Depp’s Willy Wonka, haha 🙂

  15. A giveaway! Hurrah! I wear sunglasses on long runs. They look terrible! I just hate squinting and getting headaches from the sun.

    I think I’ll have to go with the Blues Brothers and their shades…cuz they sing! I love singing and sunglasses 🙂

  16. Would love a pair of these for jogging! Until now I have been using Oakley’s, they are the lightest I’ve found so far.

    My favorite character that wore sunglasses? Julian from Big Daddy 😀 – I know he didn’t wear them throughout the whole movie – I hope that counts!

  17. I have to wear sunglasses when I am running. I feel like I can’t keep my eyes open without them!

    I immediately thought of Tom Cruise in Risky Business but I also always love the sunglasses in Sex and the City.

  18. Ferris Bueller. That was easy. I’ve been running/cycling in my Coach sunglasses and my boyfriend gets super embarrassed by it. I personally think that I look cool, but apparently I dont “fit the part” and others are judging me. Whatev.

  19. My daughter would so love these sunglasses. Hmm my favorite character that wore sunglasses is Jason Patric is The Lost Boys (He was so HOT)

  20. What an awesome giveaway!! And so timely — my running sunglasses (that I’ve had for years and years and loved) just broke!! It was devastating, because I love wearing shades on runs…especially when I’m out for a couple of hours.

    As far as my favorite movie character in shades…at the risk of sounding like a parrot, I’m going to have to echo others and say either Morpheus or Maverick!

  21. Ooooooooo I love giveaways 🙂 I would LOVE to try these because I have yet to find some shades that I’m obsessed with. Simple as that 🙂

    Favorite movie character in shades… hmmmm… Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffany’s 🙂

  22. I always wear sunglasses when I work out! I would love these because usually I wear cheap-o fashion sunglasses which look ridiculous with my workout clothes.
    I’m going with Luke Wilson in the royal tenenbaums! His retro look is funny.

  23. I live in the Netherlands. Bicycling is part of my everyday life and I do it daily. Those glasses are so appropriated!

    Clark Kent (batman) is the first character that comes up — after Napoleon Dynamite 😦

    thifas blog(at ) gmail(dot ) com

  24. I was just talking about saved by the bell the other day! I LOVED that show and have literally seen every episode 20 + times. It’s sad. Favorite episode? Hot Sundae/caffeine pills OR pretty much any episode when Zach gets really hot and looks WAY too old for high school lol

    I usually am not overlaoded during workouts unless I’m reading a magazine on my “easy” days at the gym. Otherwise, I do more videos where I need the tv as media, but it’s also my workout! Good food for thought!

  25. First giveaway, so exciting!

    I’ve slowly adapted to running with sunglasses. Hated it at first but can’t go out without them now. I have some sweet transitions that adjust to different lighting.

    My favorite character in sunglasses isn’t from a movie, it is Chester Cheetah.

Leave a Reply

