Egging Me On

I don't have the heart to tell him he's a dog. We made sure the closed captioning was on.

Yesterday evening we successfully completed a nolhtaib. That would be a backwards biathlon. Biked, then swam. Andrew was itching to do a dri-tri, practice triathlon, but after a long day I wasn’t prepared. This morning I did a gym-brick, biking to treadmill. Feeling OK, but our jaunt last night wore me out more than I had anticipated. Plus, we gave our little monster Dr Jones a bath. He then unwound and watched some TV.

My dearest pal Tiffiny brought to my attention that I need more recipes on this thing. She recommended the yummy breakfast casserole if you remember. I am pleased to share with you the best find in New York. No ladies, it’s not a designer handbag or Derek Jeter. We had dinner at an amazing Italian (eye-talian) restaurant and ordered the most unique appetizer. Asparagus with egg, sprinkled with cheese on top. Are you rolling your eyes yet? The flavor combination is out of control delicious and it’s as simple as it sound.

Green eggs and asparagus.

Eggsparagus
Ingredients:
1 bunch of asparagus
1 egg per person
2 – 3 Tablespoons of freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:
– Cook one bunch of asparagus (boiling or grilling)
– When the asparagus is almost done cooking, begin to fry your egg
– Cook egg over-easy (cooked on both sides; yolk is a thin liquid, while the egg white is partially cooked)
– Plate cooked asparagus and immediately drizzle with freshly grated Parmesan cheese
– Place egg(s) on top

Voila! This appetizer/side dish is no yolk joke. It’s a dish that would make Giada blush. Plus, too easy not to try.

Seeing as I don’t want to bore everyone with a second by second recap of my training, I’ll start sprinkling in some “Tri Tips & Tricks.”

Tri Tips & Tricks Volume 1: Call me captain obvious but it’s important to train where you are weak. Contrary to rumors, you’re strong sport won’t suffer as long as you continue to alternate your training appropriately. I started training hard for my weakest link, the swim. Knowing that I am awful at swimming, every evening (I mean almost every evening) I get in my pool and swim for at least 15 min. This non-stop swimming has helped me tremendously. Practice does in fact make perfect, or in my case – makes me look less like I’m drowning in the water.

My running has not suffered, but knowing this is where I am the strongest, I know I can pass up a long run every now and then for a longer swim. My passion for running comes back stronger after I’ve been swimming or biking.

Have you all paired a few things in a dish that you thought would never work but ended up being absolutely delicious?

17 responses to “Egging Me On

  1. I’m so enjoying following you as you train for this event. After the marathon, I definitely want to expand my workouts and maybe even attempt a few swims. It sounds like training is going well!

    I am such a sucker for pups! Your dog is precious…mine doesn’t know she’s a dog either…shhh!

    • One thing I can’t do is a marathon, so I will run vicariously through you. Tris are a nice change of pace, definitely have to do it. Goodness knows if I can float there is hope for us all.

  2. Sadly, asparagus is the one veggie I don’t like. I had to eat so much of it for my first competition prep I still can’t stomach it. Its sad bec I used to LOVE it.

  3. I like your tips & tricks – makes perfect sense! And I’m so impressed with your daily swimming. I mean, REALLY impressed b/c I’m such a weenie in the water.

    I use avocado in place of butter on my baked potatoes. 🙂

  4. what a fun event you did last night…..you are doing so well with the workouts for tris! love the eggs and asparagus idea. your pic looks scrumptious!

  5. Great work on the brick workouts! That’s awesome 🙂

    Btw, I absolutely love your dog! Granted I love pretty any dog I lay eyes on, but yours is pretty cute nonetheless!

  6. Haha, “look less like I am drowning” … that’s how I feel when I swim… I’m not a natural, but it is so good for you!

    I love learning new recipes… never tried asparagus and egg, though I’d be up for trying it. I also have to try baked beans and sweet potato which I see a lot of!

  7. I am so afraid of the water, anyone that trains for a tri is pretty awesome in my book. Sounds like all of the hard work is paying off. Next step after not drowning is to get rid of the floaties.

  8. Bricks are awesome workouts!!! Well done!!!!

    Now I want that Eggsparagus for dinner!!!!! YUMMO!!!!

  9. I am always looking for new ways to eat asparagus, I get so tired of it just steamed and plain. this is perfect, especially since I LOVE eggs. they’re the 1 thing that keeps me from being vegan every time I consider it. thanks!

Leave a Reply

