Tri-ing is Better

Somebody was eating their Wheaties, and M&Ms this weekend. I couldn’t get enough running in for some reason. Too much energy from the sugar, and too much fun with Norak (my mom) at Target.

Baby's 1st Birthday Candy Bar = Friend's 1st Candy Bar Hangover

Norak and I doing damage at Target. No, sorry she's not on sale for $18.

Six weeks until my first sprint triathlon, Tri to Beat Cancer in Athens, GA. I continue to “tri”and find a proper training plan. While many runners, swimmers, cyclists, etc. have varying rules on training, for me it seems impossible to find the perfect training plan. I have a life, I’m not paid to train. Therefore, I have to stick to a plan that I can make work, even on the days when I don’t want to. Women are more regimen and typically adhere to plans better, but I have a hard time following a discipline week after week. I get bored easily and I don’t want to feel forced to train for something I ultimately enjoy doing. I want to train to keep my passion for sports thriving. The past three weeks I have logged more than 90+ miles on the bike, no telling how many miles I’ve run or laps I’ve swam and not one mile has felt like training. (OK, maybe one or two on the bike or in the pool.)

I’ve read everything from Runner’s World and Active Network to Shape Magazine and various online triathlon sites and feel that I am getting my arms around what it will take to train. I’ll try to find a couple of plans and show you my adaptation. All the magazines and sites don’t compare to talking to someone face-to-face who has completed a tri. Practical tips I’ve heard:
– Don’t wear white, pink or orange clothing. Tends to be a bit see-thru in water. (Sorry fellas)
– The open water swim is not like the calm waters of a supervised lap pool, say at your local gym. On race day you’re going to be looking up, back, around and all over.
– Practice the transition, or brick workouts. The bike to run can leave you running like a turkey.

Right now my goal is to get focused in this last six weeks. I have at least three weekends where I will be traveling, should be interesting. Overall, one thing I am not sacrificing is my nutrition. After doing two-a-days since Friday, I can tell you when I’ve had one too many of something. Setting up a candy “bar” for a friend’s baby’s 1st birthday party had me on more sugar than all the Oompa Loompa workers combined. Not to rival the Pop Tart 5k, but I invented the Candy 10k Salute. It’s time to get focused, but knowing me I can still find a way to sneak in a cupcake.

Bingo bored for training.

Meghan, my unofficial training coach, pointed me to the amazing Runner’s World article. The August issue is speaking to me: A FAST TRANSITION – Get race-ready in six weeks with this sprint-triathlon plan.

I’m taking a closer look, and not to sound cocky but I workout harder than this when I’m not training.

Are y’all good at sticking to a plan? When training, what’s the one thing you will not sacrifice?

19 responses to “Tri-ing is Better

  1. Holy candy bar…..that looks amazing!!! 🙂 After 6 half marathons, I don’t stick to training schedules nearly as much as I probably should. I’ve done a small sprint triathlon, but didn’t really have a great training schedule for it. Good luck training!

  2. I hope you find the perfect training plan for you. It sounds stressful and it is a fine balance of finding one you can stick with and that doesn’t make you dread workouts. That was one thing I hated about my competition prep. I felt forced to do workouts instead of just loving getting to the gym.

  3. I hope you find the right plan! I am terrible with sticking with plans, so I make my own on a week by week basis. My advice to you would be to find a plan that you like, but change it to make it perfect for YOU. Everyone is different and they are going to need a different plan to help them accomplish their goals to the best of their abilities.

  4. Coach Jerry who writes with me on my blog said that the open water swimming is like trying to swim in a washer machine. Thought that was a great analogy. I am happy to put you in touch with him, he has done everything from Iron Man to Sprint Tri’s.

    As for me sticking to a plan, I am very type A. Love crossing off days of my workout, it is motivating.

  5. I think you have a great attitude towards training and you will definitely be ready when race day comes! I actually love training plans…cuz I’m a nerd like that! I like logging my progress, but I definitely think all training needs some flexibility.

    Ice cream remains on the menu throughout training…and extra sleep is a must! A scoop of the good stuff, some extra beauty sleep and I’m a happy lady!

  6. I stick to a plan for Marathon training – anything less than that I just ‘wing it’, unless I have a goal in mind (i.e. need some Speedwork regimen!). 🙂 I’ve aways found RW plans useful, too – good choice!

  7. I really understand your sentiment about still having a life and you are paid to train..and wanting to keep it enjoyable since we really love to workout! Hmmm…I’m not currently training but I will be soon and the traveling we have coming up is RIDICULOUS so it should be interesting. I’m trying to find the balance to really enjoy the upcoming trips but still sneak in enough workouts/runs to keep me on track.

  8. I am really good at sticking with a plan..it definitely helps me to have a schedule.

    The one thing I will NOT sacrafice for running is coffee…ever! haha!

  9. Oh my husband goofed on his first tri in the transition then realized that was one more thing you had to practice. I don’t like feeling “stuck” with a strict plan. My husband, on the other hand, likes those types of plans. I want flexibility. Um, I wouldn’t sacrifice wine…or pizza… 😉

    • It’s all the things you wonder what you haven’t been told that keep you up. Tri’s are keeping me on my toes for sure. Wine and pizza, so there with you.

  10. Your mama is so cute! Hmm… I always try to get the precise miles in, but for my last two races I had to seriously cut back because of injury.

  11. I try to stick to a general plan. I usually end up making my own, using other plans as a base and then tweaking it in a way that makes more sense for me. But even then, things come up or i just don’t feel like doing certain workouts…and so then I improvise. The key is to not only find something that’ll get you ready, but that also keeps you motivated. And if you’ve been logging so many miles and it hasn’t felt at all like training, I’d say that’s awesome! Keep it up 🙂

    And the one thing I won’t sacrifice when training is my ice cream…or other desserts 😉

  12. I’m so excited for you!! I’ve had trouble sticking to training plans as well, I normally switch them all up until they hardly resemble what I started with lol I’m proud of you for enjoying (almost) every mile – you’re my inspiriation girl! (:

  13. No matter what you do to train, just keep having fun with it. When I focused on how far I was running and forcing myself to do long runs when my legs couldn’t handle it I hurt myself and just got burnt out. It sounds like you’re doing the right thing for you!

  14. This is an awesome article. I especially like, “I don’t want to feel forced to train for something I ultimately enjoy doing. I want to train to keep my passion for sports thriving.” That really hit close to home because some days it just feels like you’re slogging, but there are other days that you feel like you’ll always have the wind at your back. I aim to have more days where I feel great about training than not. That’s what had me almost quit running about two years ago – training had stopped being fun. I was doing the same thing over and over. I didn’t like it.

    Triathlons have been a bit of a blessing because it keeps me fit, but most of all entertained. I’m NOT good at swimming and I’m a beginner on the bike as well. This makes me feel like I can improve. Progress is very important to me, or should I say the feeling of progress. With triathlons, I know this one tri is simply the beginning. I can’t wait to see the finish 🙂

  15. Oh, what do I refuse to sacrifice? I know this sounds silly, but time to “critically think.” I like being able to reflect on my personal life, my work life, and of course, my training. In fact, I need that kind of alone time as much as I need training. Some days they overlap as I’ll do my thinking while I train.

Leave a Reply

