Peer Pressure: Up and at them.

Like a ton of bricks, yesterday I was officially exhausted. It wasn’t until I recapped my Friday to Monday activities that I had my Britney Spears-esc moment and was physically and mentally wiped. Don’t worry, it’s not like I shaved my head. Andrew likes to call it my “DJ Tanner in the gym” moment. Point being, it’s important to take time off, but sometimes a relaxing day at the lake turns into an episode of Wipeout with swimming, wake surfing and cliff jumping. Learn to relax. Frankie was on to something.

Moving onwards and upwards, let’s talk peer pressure. Not the kind that forces you into watching Twilight, the kind that makes you do something crazy like sign up for a race. I mentioned I was somewhat coaxed by Meghan to bite the bullet and sign up for my upcoming triathlon, well it looks like another person fell victim this weekend.

A tri a day keeps the doctor away.

While out on the boat with our fabulous friends Scott and Jess, we were goofing around and Andrew and I started practicing our open water swim. In goes Scott and he did great. Thus, the peer pressure was on. We knew time was ticking to get Scott on board for our tri.

To successfully peer pressure a friend into racing with you it’s best to:
– Act fast like John Wayne. You must engage the person immediately upon seeing that glimmer in their eye that they are interested but afraid of commitment.
– If they are a male, call them a woman. Chill out ultra-fems, it’s in jest. I mean I, a girl, can do a triathlon surely this big strong man can too!
– Talk about the rewarding aspects of the race while sprinkling in the “training is so easy” comments. I suddenly feel like one of the crazy coyote villains in The Lion King.
– With the help of social media, call them out in all public forums. Don’t forget to spam them via e-mail.

Well it worked for us. But in all seriousness, I am overjoyed that we have a friend Trying to Tri with us. One more in the “Tri-ing is the first step to failure” team! It’s going to be great sharing the experience with a close friend.

Scottie it’s never too late to call on our favorite personal trainer, Rainier Luftwaffe Wolfcastle. Oh and you better believe I will squeeze and official, or unofficial, recap of his training for y’all.

Have you ever finally coerced a friend into signing up to do a race with you? Any tips on getting friends or family to join you in fitness?

20 responses to “Peer Pressure: Up and at them.

  1. Yes…I talked my friend Debra into running my first marathon with me. She orginally was only going to do the half but after some good Kelly pleading she gave in and battled the whole 26.2 with me! What a friend huh?

  2. After I registered for my first half, I persuaded a whole troop to do it with me. We trained together and had a blast on race day! Everyone agreed that is was so worth it…but my efforts didn’t work for the marathon. I’m flying solo for that – yikes!

  3. No, but a friend convinced me! It was a partner biathlon and she’s an avid biker but need a running partner. I’m so glad I did it – we actually did it two years in a row and got medals both times! 🙂

  4. My beautiful significant other, God bless her, wanted to just spend more time with me so she decided to jump right in and train for/run a marathon. So i guess the lesson learned here or tip is to train so hard that you never see your significant other which gives them only one option- sign up and join in the fun with you.

  5. I like to think I “inspired” Billy to run with me and sign up for the half marathon this December…but I definitely laid out some friendly fiancee pressure!

  6. Steal his or her credit card and just start signing the two of you up for races…
    Ok, I’ve never done that, but I did manage to convince a lot of people to do a half marathon this past June. I just convinced them that the cause was worth raising money for.

  7. My boyfriend agreed to run a race with me that falls on the week of my birthday. The race is a Friday evening, so he likes that he doesn’t have to wake up early for it.

    He’ll probably not do alot of training for it, and still get a better time than me. Boys are so naturally athletic!

  8. lol LOVED this post! I’m trying to coerce my boyfriend to do the urbanathlon with me – but it won’t really begin till I start the training for it in a few weeks.

    Trust me, I’ll put all your tactics to good use (:

  9. I’ve convinced friends *and* family members! IT’s much more fun to race with buddies 🙂 “Act fast like John Wayne” – ha, great advice right there. For any situation, really.

  10. Hahaha awesome tips!! I’m going to have to start putting them into practice. 😉 I have tried to coerce my boyfriend into races in the past, but it’s not always completely successful because he ends up getting injured or too busy and doesn’t complete the training. So I’ve threatened to just sign him up for something and force him to do it with me whether he’s ready or not. We’ll see how that goes over…

  11. That’s awesome! I think being able to do an event like that with as many other people as possible makes it a lot more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

