Le Tour, Le Tired

First, a very sincere thank you for everyone’s overwhelming support of my tri announcement. Y’all made my day.

On with the show. I’m Disney World tired. I feel like this summer we are cramming as much into the weekends as we can. I am literally am too pooped to move. I skipped my AM workout because I have no energy to muster. Hoping that by this evening I’ll be up and going. Carpooling is also worth sleeping in an extra hour, woo hoo.

Le hardest race. Ever.

The Tour de France is going on now and I truly owe part of my racing ambition to those guys. It was one year ago that I started watching “le Tour” and decided I could find the endurance to do a half marathon. If you haven’t watched the race, find time. Seeing what these cyclists put their bodies through is a level that is unmatched professionally. I don’t think in my entire life I’ll ride 2,000+ miles.

The office le Tour race route: Running from Saturday July 3rd to Sunday July 25th 2010, the 97th Tour de France will be made up of 1 prologue and 20 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,642 kilometres.

Why can't my jersey be more like this!?

Saturday we got in a 3+ hour, 40+ mile bike ride. That sounds pathetic after talking about professional cycling. Long distance on a bike is strikingly different than the long runs I’m accustomed to tackling. Andrew pushed me hard and there were hot, flat trail moments where I wanted off the bike. I remembering saying that to myself a few times. That’s when you know your body is testing its limits. We were the best kind of exhausted after. The trail had parts of an adventure course to it, as a nasty storm blew down trees and riddled the trail with pine cones and straw. We had to hop off and climb over a few. I am still looking around for a nice women’s riding jersey. Boys have it easy, there are dozens of fancy jerseys for them to choose from. I have to pick between something with a big flower and girly crap all over it or an obnoxious color like pastel purple.
Clip-in tip: Ms “unclip a mile before I have to stop” finally learned an easy trick. I unclip one foot and come to a stop, then unclip the other. This way you have a strong position to stop/start and aren’t riding janky trying to get both feet out. I should go ahead and try out for le Tour with all this wisdom.

The best part of waking up....

We spent all of Sunday out on the lake with friends. Skiing, wake surfing, boarding, swimming. Again, tired just thinking about it. I practiced open-water swimming and I actually enjoyed the lake water. It’s different but not half as bad as I was fearing. Still have a long way to go.

I’ll work on posting my triathlon training schedule, which I am still figuring out. I could really use another short week here kids.

Anybody watching le Tour? How about those that got sucked in to The Hills marathon this weekend?

18 responses to “Le Tour, Le Tired

  1. I’m hooked on the tour.

    I’m just learning to ride with clipless pedals and after a disastrous start (i’m still bruised), it isn’t going too badly. I can still use all the tips I can get though 🙂

    • Hang in there, no pun intended. Def try going up and down a street just practicing clipping in and out. You have to adjust to the feeling. I probably looked like a crazy person, but it helped. Sorry about the boo boos!

  2. I’m not watching the Tour OR the Hills! I’m so out of the loop… but I know what you mean about watching/reading about others’ extreme ambition and getting motivated!

  3. I am not watching the Tour. I have been catching the highlights via ESPN but personally I think it is kind of boring to watch!

  4. I unfortunately got sucked into the Hills marathon on Sunday morning which turned my early morning recovery run into a brutally hot afternoon tough jog.

  5. I’m impressed with your 40+ mile bike ride! And your open water swim practice because I am a total weenie in lake water. Billy is obsessed with tour coverage and I’ve been watching it with him…now I’m a bit obsessed. The course is so beautiful and I am amazed by their endurance. It seriously puts my 4 mile run in perspective – hahaha.

  6. You’re such a rockstar. Love hearing about your bike rides, I can’t wait to get started. I love watching the Tour, I caught a bit of it on Sunday morning during a huge climb. I, of course, watch it and think that I want to do something so crazy. Maybe not 3000km… but I would like to try a Century.

  7. its so nice to spend the weekend at the lake with friends….water sports are the best!

    i haven’t actually watched any of tour de france yet….maybe i should get on that to get some motivation to get out the door!

  8. Le Tour coverage these days is so amazing compared to 30 years ago, when we would have to wait for the weekend, and watch the ‘CBS Sports Spectacular’. There would be 90 minutes of coverage, 30 of which would be commercials, 50 would be charming French culture pieces, 7 would be baseball news, and 3 would show actual bike racing.

    Make sure to call in sick on Thursday, July 22, for the Col du Tourmalet stage. Versus will likely start their coverage early, and with 3 major climbs, it promises to be an epic day.

    Re: Clipless Pedals: everyone should understand that not only are you more efficient with your feet securely attached to the pedals, more importantly, you are much safer that way. Your feet are one of the 3 “contact points” you have with your bike (along with your hands and butt). You use all three to control the bike, and you really don’t want any of them to slip off at the wrong time. Just like always riding with a helmet, once you get used to clipless pedals, you’ll feel vulnerable when you get on a bike without them!

    And yes, when you come to a stop, only ever unclip one pedal, and put that foot on the ground. If you’re actually getting off the bike (as opposed to just waiting for a red light), then unclip the other foot. When starting again, clip-in one foot before starting, and get a good initial pedal-stroke to get going. If you can, clip-in with the other foot right away. If you’re too slow, and wobbly, then go ahead and pedal for a bit with one foot in, and the other doing its best to pedal unclipped. Once your speed is back to where you are smooth again, then try clipping in again.

    Re: Cool Jerseys: Want one? Join your local racing club! Even if you never plan on racing (and you will, once you start riding with a club), the group rides will make you a better, more efficient, and safer rider, for whatever goals you might have on your bike. Do a little research on the clubs in your area: some will be true racing teams, where you will need to be invited to join. Others will be development clubs, hopefully with some qualified coaches, who should be happy to work with you, regardless of your experience level. You will certainly find some cycling snobs out there but there will also be plenty of helpful riders as well. One tip: leave the aero bars (if you have them) at home for club rides like this; they’ll mark you as “one of those riders,” and you won’t be allowed to use them when in close quarters on a group ride anyway.

    If/when you get comfortable riding in a group, you will find that you are a much better cyclist, even when you’re by yourself. Cycling is a great sport, and group riding is the best way to improve your skills and general enjoyment of the sport!

  9. If by “watching” you mean Obsessively following and glued to Versus – YES! I was so sad for Lance on Sunday – rough, rough stage :(. We watched the primetime coverage last night after getting back from NM/CO – I have to say, listening to Phil & Paul commentate vs Bob and that-other-guy is not comparable. I prefer the British Experts, thankyouverymuch ( they don’t do the PT coverage ). ah well. I think Schlek is my new favorite – pulling for the Young one!

    • I like Bob Roll, but it is medically dangerous to listen to him for extended periods of time. You really need to DVR the live coverage with Phil & Paul, and watch that in the evenings. For your own safety.

      I like Andy too, but I’m afraid he won’t match the pistol-toting Alberto in the Pyrenees, and certainly not in the TT at the end. It would be nice if he did, however.

      • Ha! “medically dangerous” – I think I’d have to agree. His sidekick is really the one who annoys me though, who is that?! Phil will always be my fave. Love him.

        Don’t get me started on Contador. Not a fan! I’m hoping Andy gets some time on him so he has a cushion for the TT – otherwise, you’re totally right. He’s done. Which would be sad! Um, did Cadel not look like he was dying a slow death yesterday?! I was literally worried – his face was like ghostwhite/I’m about to puke pale. not good!

      • Hmmm, I think we’ve broken the WordPress ‘Reply’ feature, as I have to reply to this earlier message…

        Bob’s hopeless sidekick is Craig Hummer, I believe. These two are still way better than the “Bad Old Days” when Al Trautwig used to abuse us with his senseless comments and ill-placed dramatic emphasis.

        Cadel did indeed seem to be suffering a bit more than “just” having a cracked elbow on a tough climb. Sad to see le Maillot Jaune in such a condition! As I have posted elsewhere:

        I love the feeling of power that comes from being in a bike race (or even just a training ride) where you know your fitness is good, and that you can dial up the Suffering Meter at any time, making the other riders all hate you.

        I hate the feeling of helplessness that comes from being in a bike race (or just a training ride) where you know your fitness is seriously lacking, and that every time some other jerk turns up the Suffering Meter, you’re off the back. Again.

        Unfortunately, I have spent more of my cycling life experiencing the latter rather than the former, but those times when I was the former were very cool.

Leave a Reply

