“What the What” Wednesday – Live every week like it’s Shark Week

I’m not going to lie, it’s been another long week, but the holiday weekend is approaching!

With the hot, long days of summer, here are a few ways I’m staying cool and keeping it real:
Workout confusion. For almost as far back as I can remember, I aimed to get in one long run on the weekend. Since I started swimming and biking, I don’t beat myself up for adding things like a 40 mile bike ride and skipping my run. I’ve been working on my swimming in the evening, Andrew’s kept it lively in the pool by challenging me with relays. Point is, when you are doing exercises that don’t feel like a regimen you may find yourself looking forward to doing a load of different activities.

Everything AND the Kitchen Sink

– Stocking up on fresh fruit. With all the love from local farmer’s, including my Nanny, our fridge has been packed with seasonal indulgences. I have so many peaches I was afraid they would spoil. I put some in the freezer and those things have been the cat’s pajamas. I mix a frozen peach with my morning yogurt or oats, keeps me fueled up.

– Sleeping on it. I have a new rule that has been a major plus in regulating my ZZZs: no caffeine (my yum tea) post 3PM. Go ahead and call me ancient, it works. I am also sure I put this body to bed by 10PM. Tired or not, I hop in bed for reading or TV.

– It’s OK to whine wine about things. I’ve been cheating on my favorite red wines this summer with the lighter grape version, mmm white wine. If you’re like me and can’t take the tart, try a Riesling or a Sauvignon Blanc. Total Wine is my premiere destination for adult beverage shopping. They have an amazing selection. Go ahead, try to beat it. It’s like the Target for wine, they have everything you don’t even know you need, including a host of world-renowned beers. They also carry my current white wine obsession, Kitchen Sink.

There ya go – fast moves, tooty fruity, sleep and booze. I’m doing alright. That’s what’s rocking my socks these days, but least we forget, Mikey.

Mikey Likey – Looking for some new plays to add to your list? Mikey recommends you head over to your local record store, or like the majority of the population go to iTunes, and grab the new Scissor Sisters album “Night Work.”  Since they haven’t felt like dancing, they are back with a new album. This band dominates the charts in Europe and their dance vibes are a cult favorite in the states. Warning, “the cover art leaves something to be desired though.”

A whole new meaning to the term "flash dance."

Any new summer tunes you’ve been rocking out to? And what’s your favorite summer beverage?!

16 responses to ““What the What” Wednesday – Live every week like it’s Shark Week

  1. The John Daly, which is the vodka version of the Arnold Palmer. The woman and I can’t get enough of it during the summer.

  2. Love having multiple cardio options to choose from. Keeps me from getting bored (or injured for that matter). White wine is so refreshing during the summer – like they were made for each other. I like a nice pinot grigio.

  3. I must say, I’m known to enjoy a glass of sauvignon blanc on a hot summer night. Love the chilled whites this time of year!

    Your workouts are so diverse and fun! Keep rockin’ it!

  4. I agree about 10pm bedtime – maybe not to sleep immediately but to unwind. I’ve definitely been eating a huge amount of fresh fruit. I can’t get enough. Summer drinks? I like a white wine – usually Chardonnay. I also like a light vodka drink with iced tea and mint. Can we please have wine together sometime!? 🙂

  5. My favorite summer beverage is actually homemade lemonade!! But if we’re talking alcohol here, fresh strawberry reisling – ahhhh so good!

    I just downloaded a new techno mix from my friend Doverspike that has been rocking my workouts! Techno = perfect cardio music

  6. you definitely should not worry if you miss your run when you ride 40 miles! my fav summer beverage-a good oakey chardonnay!

  7. Oh my! That album cover is…interesting.

    I agree with all these things. Although I’m having a hard time with the sleep thing (hence the being up so late commenting on your blog and the grumpiness in the morning thing.) My schedule has been all out of whack lately and I haven’t been able to adjust back yet. Maybe my mind thinks i should be on summer vacation or something, I don’t know…

    Anyway, I think workout confusion is especially key in keeping yourself motivated at any time. If you get sick of your routine, chances are you’re not going to stick with it for very long.

    And in the summer, I prefer iced beverages. Especially iced coffee. There’s no better way to start the day. 😉

  8. I cannot stop listening to VV Brown’s “Shark in the Water” – Call me lame, but she’s like a moden day Natasha Beddingfield with an attitude!
    And AMEN Lauren – I start any big day with a medium dark roast iced coffee from Dunkin’!

Leave a Reply

