Endurance – Makes Us Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

I don’t know if today’s title quote goes to Kayne or Daft Punk?

I want to sincerely thank everyone for commenting on yesterday’s post discussing the World Cup and athlete’s composure. Truly fantastic feedback. Y’all made enough noise to rival a vuvuzela, well maybe.

Now, on with the show.

You know the slogans, you’ve heard the taglines: “Have what it takes?” “Is it in you?”

Sic' Em John!

Yesterday on the stage at Wimbledon, a fellow University of Georgia alumni John Isner showed the proud Bulldog nation, along with the globe, he had what it took during the WORLD’S longest tennis match against Frenchman Nicolas Mahut. There were like 10 other records shattered as well.

According to the Washington Post: “In terms of other sports, we’re talking about a 60-inning baseball game or a 10-quarter NFL playoff game. In other words, unreal.”

Endurance. It’s a word I associate with everything from running marathons to listening to my husband talk about history. It’s an ability to somewhat make your body push on, when all the signals in your brain are saying, “For the love of all that is holy, how about we toss in the towel here.”

Of course, after a martini Andrew thinks Mahut should have continued play. “Isner’s a professional athlete. Have fun out there. He looked like a shot brontosaurus. No need to exasperate the point, we know he’s exhausted. Mahut was still chasing down balls at the end.” Easssy there tiger. Isner is like 6’9, he has to work a bit harder regardless.

I have come to the realization that it is the ability to endure the good days and bad days of training, the little and big moments of tolerance that build character. It’s the training days when you feel you cannot do anymore that you learn endurance. Training isn’t just about the moment, it’s about the lesson. So hang in there.

Hot, hot mess.

Outside of a half marathon, I have endured long personal runs, days of hiking, near swimming disasters, more stair climbing than I care to count and personal injury.

I’ve also learned to stick with things. Pushing through the awkward and the uncomfortable phases of learning, because I believe that at the end I can swim out on top.

Having stamina is the mother of all workouts.

So do you have what it takes? Have you ever endured something you didn’t think you could?

18 responses to “Endurance – Makes Us Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger

  1. I think it is the crappy runs in humid heat that make me a better and more efficient runner. Just when you think you can’t go on, and you do, you have taken that next step as an athlete. Endurance is not a God given gift or a skill, it is having the “balls” to get it done.

  2. A Marathon. nobody can prepare you for the mentality it takes to get through the Hard training runs (some of them are fun, some of them make you consistently question your sanity), not to mention the last 6.2 miles. But, we runners are often masochists, and go back for more 😉

    Love this post – and LOVE that you threw in “listening to my husband talk about history” – haha. at least you listen, right? 🙂

  3. Hahahaahaha about enduring your husband’s history talks. I know the feeling but my fiance is an attorney so it’s usually about the law! (or football stats or computer programs…etc etc) 🙂

    I know I talk about Bikram a lot lately – but it’s very relevant in my life right now and OMG, getting through the first few 90-minute classes in 105 degrees was pushing it for me. I wanted to RUN (ok, crawl) out of the room so many times but I got my head in it and pushed on through. Great feeling to push yourself and see your true capabilities!

  4. lol enduring husband’s talk? guess he wud be enduring ur talk too? no offence, :).

    Me and enduring? I think that was on one of my travel in the general compartment of the Indian Railways. It was packed with people, not an inch to move, mid-noon, and sweating! 3hrs of journey and i was hungry from the start of it! enduring? u decide!

  5. such a great post….i think i push myself everytime i ride and i learn so much from pushing myself 🙂

  6. Seriously, this is just what I needed. I’ve hit a little rut in my half marathon training and I needed some inspiration! I just love you blog Nichole!! I’m posting this in mine (:

  7. Thinking back to high school (when I tried to get into running but could barely run a mile), I thought all about speed and spent no time worrying about endurance. Now that I’ve started running again, I’ve worked my way up to a 5k, and feel like endurance is key. It feels amazing to run a further distance than you ever expected.

  8. A marathon…never did I think I could do it and I surely would have never thought I woul be doing multiples and running NYC!

  9. I feel like I’m really building my endurance with this marathon training plan. Not only will I face physical challenges, but mental ones as well. I’ve endured the challenge of weight-loss and I’m ready for this!

  10. So cool you went to the same school as Isner!

    I’ve been in excruciating pain during both of the half-marathons I’ve run. I may not have had the most amazing time, but I powered through both!

  11. I’m new to reading this…and I like what you have to say! Sometimes what intimidates me most is when I realize that I can actually run up the big hill and not have to stop because sometimes I just want to have an excuse to rest and say that well I took a walk break because of the hill. I like the philosophy that it is the lesson from training.

  12. I definitely do not have the stamina to run up any hills, but if John Isner wanted to have any kind of 11 hour match with me, count me in. Priorities.

  13. I endured three years of Grad school with no plans whatsoever of a management career. Did it cause my wife was doing it- and I don’t want hers bein no smarter than me is.

Leave a Reply

