Off the Beaten Path: New York City & Birthday Wishes

Gorgeous ride to New York.

‘Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego’ spent the weekend in the city that never sleeps, New York City!! We had European dreams, but spending Andrew’s birthday weekend in the apple was lovely.

Strolling the streets of NYC.

We played with friends near swanky Soho, where the bars were eclectic and the weather was right for the open patio air. A welcome relief from the serious humidity in Atlanta. The subway became our buddy, as I typically only travel for work and will spring for a cab. It was fairly easy to navigate…except for that one wrong line off the island.

Saturday morning we got a run in at Central Park. If you follow a few paths, you can find secluded parts around lakes to jog. That was one of my favorite parts of the weekend. We later cheered on USA in the FIFA World Cup at a pub, can we say rowdy? Afterward we walked what felt like all of the Manhattan island, but seeing the different people and attractions helped pass the miles.

And we had quite possibly the best dinner Saturday night at a place we ventured to on the upper West Side. I love Andrew for the fact that we can pick up and go anywhere, we didn’t take any recommendations we simply ventured off to find a restaurant. We stumbled upon a little Italian place where we could eat on the patio, Nonna. They had the most amazing wines. Dinner was outstanding and Andrew even got a birthday song serenade. Truly blessed, beautiful weekend.

Magical Swim Cap!

Sunday we arrived back in HOT Atlanta early and hit the ground running, well almost literally. Andrew and I went road biking for the first time together and I only had one semi-fall. It was nice going together for a ride. But, the biggest news since “swimming ain’t easy” is that I am a great deal better at swimming!! Fist, can I please say THANK YOU for all the words of encouragement everyone sent. Y’all rock, made my day! It’s like a I had a mini-breakthrough. I picked up a swim cap over the weekend and I swear that thing has magical powers. My stroke, breathing, has greatly improved. I am no longer panicking! I guess it could be because of Meghan’s marvelous tips or the fact that Andrew coached me in the water, but it’s a huge relief. I learned to relax in the water and go slow. It’s like kicking off flip flops, whereas I was swimming like I was kicking off jeans. There was also an article worth reading from Women’s Health magazine, “Swim Your Butt Off.” Useful tips on form. I guess those that don’t run may have this same feeling when trying the sport. It’s overwhelming, but when things click it’s the sweetest reward. Don’t get me wrong, I have major strokes before I am decent:)

And in closing. HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANDREW!!!!!!

They say it's your birthday...dadd dad adda


What did y’all end up doing this weekend?! And what was one way someone made you feel extra special on your birthday? (taking hints here people:)

14 responses to “Off the Beaten Path: New York City & Birthday Wishes

  1. I’ve only been to NYC for a 3-day work trip, but what I saw mesmorized me and I can’t wait to go back! (I’m hoping for July.) Anyway, I’m glad you and Andrew had a good time 🙂

    Congrats on the swim break-though! It’s nice to have those from time to time.

    PS: I just bought a swimcap and I love it too! Ah, it’s the little things…

  2. I was in SOHO on Fri night as well, was jammed with NYU students. Glad you had nice weather while being here. Aren’t we spoiled with Central Park, it is the best park in the world in the best city in the world.

    • I have NOHO idea where I was half the time to be honest:) Yes, Central Park was awesome once you broke free from the vendors and plethora of strollers.

      Next time my friend, we must meet up.

      99.9% sure your post has made my week.

  3. Sounds like a great time. New York City is so much fun.

    I love getting taken out for dinner on my birthday, and going out for dessert. I always love to get taken on hikes and picnics for these special days.

  4. oh a weekend in the city! how wonderful…..love it-it is the city that never sleeps for sure…..and happy birthday to andrew 🙂

  5. es increible, pero gracias al google maps pude ver el restaurante donde comieron en NYC “La Nonna” en Pequeña Italia.

    Feliz cumpleaños !!
    Gabriel de Argentina (Buenos Aires)

  6. Your NYC weekend looks great! I had a fun-filled DC weekend. My friend and I actually discussed meeting in NYC next time we want to have a little adventure.

  7. I loved reading about your time in Manhattan – I spent the whole 2009 summer up there and fell in love. Good for you about the swimming! It’s so awesome to feel like you are improving on something so challenging. My weekend was full of good food and friends. We had a fun party to watch Saturday’s World Cup games. Hope your week is off to a great start!

  8. I’m glad you had a good time! I’ve been to NYC many times, but I still haven’t made it to Central Park! So terrible of me, espeically since running in Central Park is like one of my life goals lol

Leave a Reply

