Hello. Good Morning.

Big Apple -> Big Crazy

I’m back from a quick jaunt to New York City. I am beyond Disney World tired. The crazypants in me worked out yesterday AM before my early flight and although I didn’t get in until 12:30AM, I was back in the gym this morning. Something about going to the gym is the only way I can start my day off right. This whole lack of sleep isn’t smart, trust me I’m aware. It’s making me super salty today, lookout peeps!

I would like to thank the fine makers of Starbucks for brewing me up a grande Red Eye, the first time I have a legitimately needed it.

Here’s a quick rundown of NYC by the numbers:
Hours in NYC: 11
Celebrity Sightings: 4 (2 on purpose, 2 by dumb luck)
People who looked famous: 1,592
Temperature: 90+, all the people in the city only makes it feel more hot
Cabs that made me nauseous: 2, I think all yellow cabs make me carsick. Not like a little, we’re talking full on saying a prayer I don’t have to hurl out the window.

Tall and tan and young and lovely...

The random celebrity sighting, Evan Lysacek from Dancing with the Stars, or his real claim to fame Olympic Gold! He was in town doing interviews with the morning shows. He was with other dancers, but I don’t watch, sorry!
Verdict: handsome in a pretty way. Tan. Glasses indoor, OK we will let that go. Outfit, damn if I could pull off skinny jeans like that I would. Nice Nike kicks though.

And T-Boz was on my flight home, I said hello but had no energy to get all excited. PS – she’s short.

I did get some reading in on the plane, courtesy of my Women’s Health Magazine subscription. I came across an article the timeless question,”Diet vs. Exercise.” At first I was like, look at picture, skim, and then I went back and read the article. Sometimes you need a bonk on the head to have your ah-ha moment. Women’s Health tested six important scenarios to see who was the winner. Excerpt from the article:

Weighted Decision

For a healthy lifestyle, is diet or exercise best? The winner: Diet
The reason: As research makes clear, trimming calories from your diet is the most direct route to a smaller dress size. “It’s much easier to cut 500 calories than to spend an hour in the gym burning 500 calories every day,” says Timothy Church, M.D., Ph.D., director of preventive medicine research at the Pennington Biomedical Research Center at Louisiana State University. However, both diet and exercise are essential for keeping that weight off.

At first this answer seriously peeved me, it sounded like people should be lazy and only cut calories. I work out for more than weight management. But do you work out to maintain or see results? It is definitely a combination. I do think sometimes when you exercise you can let some things slide because you got in a hard workout. This is where listening to what your body wants makes an impact, a huge difference.

What are your thoughts on the diet vs. exercise debate?

Let’s see if I can attempt normalcy today.

6 responses to “Hello. Good Morning.

  1. It’s totally a combo, although I suppose it depends what your goal is. To lose weight, diet probably counts more, but to maintain, I think exercise is the winner. I know after I had lost a bunch of weight (while exercising consistently since day one) and then got lazy on the exercise front, the pounds started creeping back.

  2. If you would have asked me this question a year ago, I would have said diet is key or just pick one: diet or exercise. Whatever works for you. However, ever since I started seriously working out (especially weight training), my whole body has evolved. I’m stronger, happier, and healthier. I guess though of the question is losing weight only then it doesn’t matter. But I agree that for weight managent and happiness, you need to do both.

  3. I agree with your thoughts completely! I feel like if you’re just trying to drop a few pounds dieting works. But if you want to maintain weight you must exercise! Since I’ve started running more frequently I’ve definitely slimmed down without trying, and I eat so much more to maintain my energy level. I definitely dont think its cut and dry if you want to maintain a healthy life.

  4. I was just reading something about this today!!

    (too much time on the internet today researching about obesity rates….)

    I wish i could quote but it was saying something along the lines of being physically inactive, even if you are skinny, is just as bad for your health as being obese.

    So basically I believe that its a combination – diet and exercise. But I think that the most important thing is to move your body, get sweaty, and waaaaay more than the average person is doing these days!

    but that’s just my opinion 🙂

  5. People who looked famous: 1,592 made me LOL. Living here you get immune to the celebrities and celebrity wanna-be’s. One second I am in line with Harvey Keitel the next I’ve got a Paris Hilton wanna-be taking my order at Starbucks. Great post.

Leave a Reply

