No “Whey” Soy Protein

Ready to, pump you up!

Signs Andrew is taking my workouts seriously. He bought me my first protein jug! I feel legit. It’s soy protein, no not whey. Norak and naysayers chillax, the reason I’m doing the protein is to help give my body the proper nutrition it needs post hard workouts. Has anybody gotten ill from too much protein? Well maybe Chet from the old 96er. And contrary to the cautionary tales, I will not turn into she-hulk. Women simply don’t have the mega-muscle gene.

Protein is essential for muscle construction and repair and helps out the immune system,

From the desk of the Nutrioneer:
Whey Protein = muscle re-builder. For me, soy protein is more estrogen based, geared towards women. In general protein is the “mortar between the bricks.” You’re only as good as the mortar in between your “bricks,” or muscles.

Your body gets protein throughout the day, but when you take a protein supplement you’re giving your body a dose right when it wants it. Spackle right after a workout is instant repair.

Lose anybody yet? From what Andrew’s been saying, I’m looking to build muscle and recover quicker. Soy protein provides a healthy way to get non-animal protein into your diet. It is great tasting, natural and can have a plethora of healthy effects on the body.

People put these protein powders in milk and smoothies, but I stumbled across perhaps one of the most awesomest (yep, that’s now a word) recipes. I realize the image is not going to do anything for you, but trust me it’s easy and delish. Does this make me sound like Diamond from American Gladiators?

Be a Peanut Butter Pro. Doughn't cha wanna try it?!

Nu-tellin Peanut Butter Prough
Ingredients:
Scoop or two of soy protein
Bunny scoop of Peanut Butter
Bunny scoop of Nutella
Sprinkle of oats
Water (to your liking)

Directions:
Seriously, that’s it. Put all that jazz in a bowl, add water and you’re protein packed. Certified to kick some a**.
*thanks Girl Meets Health and April for the tip!!

It’s been gratifying trying new things. Not sure what results, if any, soy protein will have but I’ll be sure to let you know how I am feeling.

Are you trying any added nutrients in your diet? Or maybe you have something that always helps you refuel after a tough workout…

Leave a Reply

