“What the What” Wednesday

I have too many things floating around this noggin to focus on one. The amount of support people have shown to some of our featured guests has been crazy sweet. And ultimately, if this site gets some of y’all movin’…we’ve gone gangbusters. It’s definitely been motivation for moi.

Is it really Wednesday? Cheezits, Mary and Joseph I need more hours in a day.

Kicking it.

If the shoe fits:
OK, I know I was ranting about how awesome sauce my Nike sneakers were, and I loved them, truly I did — but the newest model was not doing it for me. After a bad run with them during the Nashville Country Music Marathon I decided it was time for a change. The folks at Big Peach Running Company here in Atlanta were amazing and patient when I went back for a new fitting. I sided on a Brooks running shoe. Dying to try out the brand. It was like Christmas morning, went jogging when I got home and couldn’t wait to get to the gym  the next morning. Unfortunately (I blame my heels at work) I have been feeling serious ouchie-wa-wa in my left heel. Via the interwebs and Runner’s World, it could be acute plantar fasciitis. “The stress of overuse, overpronation, or overused shoes can rip tiny tears in it, causing pain and inflammation, a.k.a. plantar fasciitis.”

More like augly. So we’ll be slowing my running for a bit. You have a pair of shoes that rocks your socks?

Mikey Likey
This is not related to sports or healthy living, but how about entertainment? This edition of features Conan O’Brien’s “60 Minutes” interview. In summary, worth the watch and not what he expected. Conan was very humble and very PC about the whole thing. What a class act. Check out Funny or Die for the “what he was really thinking” version.

The StAbility to Be the Ball

Ridiculous, isn't it?

If you can find a stability workout video online that doesn’t make you laugh until you cry, you aren’t looking hard enough. Who really takes themselves seriously when squishing blue plastic between their legs…in a thrusting motion no less.

Seriously though, balls stability balls can, and should be, your friend. They make ab exercises far more entertaining and if you’re brave enough to get on one with weights then you’ll feel the burn in record time. Careful if you’re on a hard surface without a mat, for your sake and the floor’s. Women’s Health has a few moves I do often with an exercise ball and the Good Housekeeping folks have a good guide for beginners, Core Exercises for the Stability Ball.

And did I mention…Feliz Cinco de Mayo! Looking for a more sensible recipe for your fiesta? May I recommendo Nacho Mama’s Nachos. Andrew made these late night when we were seriously contemplating a little Papa John’s.

These are my nachos, nach-yos.

Nacho Mama’s Nachos:
Ingredients
However many blue corn tortilla chips your heart desires
1 low-carb soft tortilla
1/2 cup corn and black beans
1/4 cup diced tomatoes (or salsa)
1 non-fat Kraft cheese single (quartered)
1/2 cup skim mozzarella shredded cheese
1 tiny banana pepper
* a few slices of pepperoni (for decor)

Directions
Place soft tortilla on a plate and get to stacking! Throw your creation into the microwave for 30 – 60 seconds and enjoy your bueno creation.

***
What’s your favorite Cinco de Mayo creation?

One response to ““What the What” Wednesday

  1. You made a great choice with Brooks. I have been in love with their sneakers for a few years. You made a great choice. Hope the foot feels better.

Leave a Reply

