Easy Peasy Mac N Cheesy

I believe there is a little Chef in all of us, even if that is Boyardee. After reading various articles about homemade meals and healthy cooking, I was ready to get at it this evening.

My attempt: Homemade Baked Macaroni and Cheese
Degree of difficulty I thought the recipe was: Medium
Degree of difficulty the recipe turned out to be: Easy (that’s kind of a lie, I was nervous!)

Homemade Easy Peasy Mac N Cheesy -- Nom

If you want the proper “Classic Baked Macaroni and Cheese” you can thank Taff and Southern Living. If you want my janky 14K Gold Chef version, continue reading. I went healthier too, so again I made an unleaded version.

Easy Peasy Mac N Cheesy:
Ingredients
2 cups skim milk
2 tablespoons Olivio butter
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 good shake of salt
1 good shake of freshly ground black pepper
1 (8-oz.) bag of Skim Sharp Cheddar cheese, shredded
– Paprika to taste (my man likes it hot, and the little flap flew open so it was more than a dash)
1 box of wheat whatevershapeyoulike macaroni, cooked

Preparation
1. WHISK FLOUR INTO BUTTER: Preheat oven to 400°. Microwave milk at HIGH for 1 1/2 minutes. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium-low heat; whisk in flour until smooth. Cook, whisking constantly, 1 minute. Don’t panic if you abandon the stove, I was running after my dog half the time.

2. WHISK IN WARM MILK: Gradually whisk in warm milk, and cook, whisking constantly, 5 minutes or until thickened. Um, I don’t remember what happened here, but hang in there and keep stirring.

3. WHISK IN CHEESE: This ended up all going in together. Whisk in salt, black pepper, 1 cup shredded cheese, and, if desired, red pepper until smooth; stir in pasta. Spoon pasta mixture into a lightly greased 2-qt. baking dish; top with remaining cheese and bread crumbs! Bake at 400° for 20 minutes or until golden and bubbly.

Kind of looks like a dinosaur. Go with it.

I served the dish with a side of Morningstar Chicken Nuggets, cause that’s how I roll. And really I was a bit afraid my mac n cheese would fail and I didn’t want to have to completely go to plan B.

This exercise in cooking something besides oatmeal or cupcakes was awesome. Don’t be afraid to blow, burn or sizzle things (yes, that’s what she said). There is always cereal.

If you have watched enough Food Network, there is hope for you yet. Any amazing homemade dishes you like to prepare?

Leave a Reply

